Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2022 21:08:39

Sponsor 743
July 11
Smoky Mountain Speedway,
Maryville, TN
Sanction: Ultimate Southeast Series (Firecracker 500) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 12, 10:07 am)
Weaver goes flag-to-flag for Ultimate win
Firecracker 500
  1. Randy Weaver
  2. Casey Roberts
  3. Vic Hill
  4. Billy Ogle Jr.
  5. Dennis Franklin
  6. Tommy Kerr
  7. Bobby Giffin
  8. Anthony Burroughs
  9. Mark Vineyard
  10. Jeff Smith
  11. Jonathan Edwards
  12. Brian Ledbetter
  13. Kennie Compton Jr.
  14. Skip Arp
  15. Jason Welshan
  16. Dusty Carver
  17. Doug Sanders
  18. Chad Ogle
  19. Chris Ferguson
  20. Cory Hedgecock
  21. Aaron Ridley
  22. David Payne
  23. Danny Yoder
  24. Mark Douglas
presented by
Glen Starek/glensphoto.com
Randy Weaver celebrates his Smoky Mountain victory.
What won the race: Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., charged to the lead at the drop of the green flag and led the entire distance of the Firecracker 500 for his first Ultimate Super Late Model Series victory and a $5,000 payday.
Quotable: "I can’t thank my sponsors enough, with this new Longhorn Chassis. Matt’s here tonight helping all three of us up there," Weaver said. "A lot of good fans around here that support me and I love this racetrack, they’ve worked their tails off and got it pretty racy, it’s just good for the year I’ve had, it’s really good to be here and let alone win the race, that race car is really good."
Key notes: Weaver entered just his third event since making a mid-season switch to Longhorn Chassis. ... The event was slowed by eight cautions. ... The series made its only Tennessee stop of 2014. ... The track was previously set to host the tour on May 31, but the event was rained out. ... Hometown Jason Welshan led every lap of the Crate Late Model feature; he piloted a Warrior house car entry to a 15th-place finish in the Super Late Model event.
Winner's sponsors: Weaver's Longhorn Chassis has a Cornett Racing Engine and sponsorship from A.F. Stone Professional Medical Services, Hoosier Racing Tire, Outlaw Race Parts, SlickerGraphics.com, Stone Land Clearing & Excavating, The Bailey Company and VP Racing Fuels.
Points chase: Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., extended his points lead over Jeff Smith with a fifth-place finish; Smith finished 10th.
Car count: 32
Fast qualifier: Randy Weaver
Time: 15.881 seconds
Consolation race winners: Skip Arp, Tommy Kerr
Provisional starters: Jeff Smith
Next series race: July 12, North Georgia Speedway (Chatsworth, GA) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728