Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/26/2022 18:09:53

Sponsor 743
July 25
Fayette County Speedway,
West Union, IA
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series - $2,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 26, 2:38 pm)
Cooney charges to Fayette County victory
  1. Todd Cooney
  2. Justin Kay
  3. Tyler Bruening
  4. Chad Holladay
  5. Darrel DeFrance
  6. Richie Gustin
  7. Curt Martin
  8. Darren Ackerman
  9. Ryan Dolan
  10. Luke Goedert
  11. Cayden Carter
  12. Jeremiah Hurst
  13. Tim Simpson
  14. Denny Eckrich
  15. Nick Marolf
  16. Joe Zrostlik
  17. Curt Schroeder
  18. Greg Kastli
  19. Travis Smock
  20. Andy Eckrich
  21. Rob Moss
  22. Chad Coyne
  23. Jeff Aikey
  24. Logan Duffy
  25. Bryce Carey
presented by
K.C. Rooney
Todd Cooney picked up the checkers at Fayette County.
What won the race: Going from third-to-first on the 31st lap, fourth-starting Todd Cooney of Pleasant Hill, Iowa, by Justin Kay and leader Chad Holladay to grab Wednesday's $2,000 Deery Brothers Summer Series victory at Fayette County Speedway. Kay settled for second ahead of a charging Tyler Bruening while Holladay settled for fourth as the tour ran at West Union for the first time in nine seasons.
Quotable: “We’d kind of been all over the place but I was able to get up to third before that last restart, get a run on the back stretch and get the lead,” winner Todd Cooney said. “Any time you can beat Justin (Kay) it’s a big thing and Chad (Holladay) has been running well, too. To pass both of them is pretty awesome.”
Key notes: Rain delayed the action about 90 minutes. ... Cooney scored his eighth career Deery Brothers victory and first since Sept. 7, 2017, at Boone (Iowa) Speedway. ... Cooney is the seventh winner in the last seven series races. ... Jeff Aikey piloted Scott Fitzpatrick's car and finished 23rd. ... There was a prerace moment of silence for John Deery Sr. founder of the tour's title sponsor, who died a week earlier.
On the move: Tyler Bruening of Decorah, Iowa, started 25th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Cooney’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by May Properties, Watters Autoland, GH Race Cars and KS Engineering.
Points chase: Heading to Fayette County, Justin Kay had 313 points to lead Ryan Dolan (300), Jeremiah Hurst (283), Curt Martin (273) and Todd Cooney (205).
Car count: 27
Heat race winners: Denny Eckrich, Chad Holladay, Darrel DeFrance
Next series race: August 4, La Salle Speedway (LaSalle, IL) $2,000
Editor's note: Add details; correct Cooney's series victory total to eight.

Feature lineup

Row 1: DeFrance, Holladay
Row 2: D. Eckrich, Cooney
Row 3: Aikey, Hurst
Row 4: Gustin, Duffy
Row 5: Kay, Ackerman
Row 6: A. Eckrich, Smock
Row 7: Marolf, Carter
Row 8: Moss, Martin
Row 9: Kastli, Zrostlik
Row 10: Goedert, Coyne
Row 11: Dolan, Schroeder
Row 12: Simpson, Carey
Row 13: Bruening

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728