Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/02/2022 08:43:18

Sponsor 743
July 14
Magnolia Motor Speedway,
Columbus, MS
Sanction: Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series (Governor’s Cup) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 15, 8:05 am)
Baggett drinks from Governor's Cup at Magnolia
Governor’s Cup
  1. Neil Baggett
  2. Brian Rickman
  3. Rick Rickman
  4. Billy Moyer Jr.
  5. Michael Arnold
  6. Spencer Hughes
  7. Chad Thrash
  8. Tim Dees
  9. Tyler Burgess
  10. Terry Wilson
  11. Shane Stephens
  12. Kyle Shaw
  13. Chad McCool
  14. David Franklin
  15. Wesley Greene
  16. Shelby Sheedy
  17. Tombo Callahan
  18. Jamie Elam
  19. Shay Knight
presented by
Chris McDill
Neil Baggett grabbed his third straight touring victory.
What won the race: Winning his third consecutive touring event, Neil Baggett of Columbus, Miss., jumped to the lead Saturday and held off fellow Columbus resident Brian Rickman following a late-race caution to win the annual Governor’s Cup race at Magnolia Motor Speedway. Baggett earned $3,000 on the Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series.
Key notes: Baggett finished 1.539 seconds ahead of Brian Rickman. … Seven of the 19 starters completed all 40 laps. … A caution with seven lap remaining allowed brothers Brian and Rick Rickman to close the gap, but Baggett was able to hold them off. … The win was Baggett’s second MSCCS victory of the season and sixth of his career. … He joined Tyler Erb as the tour’s only repeat winner this season. Baggett previously won June 22 at Hattiesburg (Miss.) Speedway. … Baggett won Comp Cams Super Dirt Series races July 5 and July 7. … Evan Ellis topped a 12-car field to win the Crate Late Model feature. ... The MSCCS tour returns to Magnolia on Aug. 25.
On the move: Tyler Burgess started 16th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Baggett’s Prate Montgomery-owned Rocket Chassis is powered by a Jay Dickens engine and sponsored by Montgomery Farms, Jamie’s Body Shop, FJH Logging, Doug’s Auto Sales, RTC Towing, Highway 19 North Speed Shop, Bo’s Satellite Service and Advanced Logistics.
Points chase: Entering the event, Neil Baggett (1,130) of Columbus, Miss., led Brian Rickman (1,120), Chad Thrash (1,115), Rick Rickman (1,050) and Michael Arnold (880).
Car count: 19
Fast qualifier: Brian Rickman
Time: 14.595 seconds
Dash winner: Brian Rickman
Consolation race winners: Jamie Elam
Next series race: July 21, Greenville Speedway (Greenville, MS) $2,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: B. Rickman, Baggett
Row 2: Thrash, R. Rickman
Row 3: Arnold, Hughes
Row 4: Wilson, Dees
Row 5: Elam, Moyer Jr.
Row 6: Stephans, Knight
Row 7: Shaw, Sheedy
Row 8: Greene, Burgress
Row 9: McCool, Callahan
Row 10: Franklin

Sponsor 1044
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728