Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/28/2023 01:34:35

Sponsor 743
July 7
Brownstown Speedway,
Brownstown, IN
Sanction: MARS Racing Series (Born Free 40) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 8, 6:55 am)
K-Rob takes Brownstown's MARS Born Free 40
Born Free 40
  1. Kent Robinson
  2. Devin Gilpin
  3. Tanner English
  4. Steve Casebolt
  5. Shelby Miles
  6. Greg Johnson
  7. Tim Manville
  8. Zak Blackwood
  9. Jackie Boggs
  10. Brad Barrow
  11. Dean Carpenter
  12. Alan Magner
  13. Caleb Ashby
  14. John Clippinger
  15. Brent McKinnon
  16. Steve Godsey
  17. Karlie Holt
  18. G.R. Smith
  19. Adam Bowman
  20. John Baker
  21. Troy Worrick
  22. Joe Deckard
presented by
Mark Schaefer
Kent Robinson takes the checkered flag at Brownstown Speedway for his first-ever MARS Racing Series triumph.
What won the race: Going from third to first with a high-side move on an early restart, Kent Robinson of Bloomington, Ind., recorded his first-ever MARS Racing Series victory Saturday, fending off fellow Hoosier Devin Gilpin to pocket a total of $5,500 for winning the Born Free 40. Robinson led 37 of 40 laps.
Quotable: "Once I got out there, I kind of just tried to set a pace," 31-year-old winner Kent Robinson said. "But you can't (be conservative); if you try to slow down at all it messes up up and you get out of your rhythm. So I had to run hard. It's a demanding racetrack. It looks smooth top to bottom, which it is, but this place, the way it's shaped and the way the race cars are now, you've just gotta be elbows up 100 percent of the time."
Key notes: Robinson earned a $500 bonus posted by MARS director Chris Tilley posted for being a first-time MARS winner. ... Runner-up Devin Gilpin pulled alongside Robinson in turn four after a mid-race restart — the frontrunners touched in turn four — but Robinson edged away to stay in control thereafter. .... MARS points leader Tanner English led the first three laps before a caution for Steve Godsey; Robinson made his winning move around English and Gilpin on the restart. ... The triumph was Robinson's first in 16 overall starts this season. He's enjoyed a consistent campaign, however, failing to finish in the top 10 just three times. ... Marty O'Neal won the evening's Crate Late Model feature.
Winner's sponsors: Robinson’s MB Customs car is powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from J.B.’s Salvage, J.B.’s Disposal Service, Keyser Manufacturing, Jones Oil Company, Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels and Envy Suspension.
Points chase: Heading to Brownstown, reigning tour champ Tanner English had 1,197 points to lead Tim Manville (1,171) and Dean Carpenter (1,147).
Car count: 27
Polesitter: Tanner English
Heat race winners: Tanner English, G.R. Smith, Kent Robinson
Consolation race winners: Steve Godsey
Next series race: August 3, Bloomington Speedway (Bloomington, IN) $3,000
Editor's note: Fixes Robinson's chassis manufacturer.

Feature lineup

Row 1: English, Smith
Row 2: Robinson, Casebolt
Row 3: Gilpin, Manville
Row 4: Blackwood, Johnson
Row 5: Miles, Clippinger
Row 6: Magner, Bowman
Row 7: Baker, Carpenter
Row 8: Barrow, Godsey
Row 9: Boggs, McKinnon
Row 10: Holt, Worrick
Row 11: C. Ashby, Deckard
Row 12: TBA, TBA

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information