Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/26/2022 17:05:44

Sponsor 743
July 7
Richmond Raceway,
Richmond, KY
Sanction: Ultimate Heart of America Series (Butch Shay Memorial) - $5,000
Information provided by: Alli Collis (last updated July 9, 12:27 pm)
Bailey's demise lifts Hawkins at Richmond
Butch Shay Memorial
  1. Jared Hawkins
  2. Eric Wells
  3. Jason Jameson
  4. Duane Chamberlain
  5. Derek Fisher
  6. Daniel Dial
  7. Jason Barrett
  8. Austin Burns
  9. Dalton Brown
  10. Tim Tungate
  11. Elliott Despain
  12. C.J. Ruble
  13. Charles McDonald
  14. Tommy Bailey
  15. John Whitney
  16. Dustin Golden
  17. Skylar Marlar
  18. Joey Notchie
  19. Chad Stapleton
  20. Daniel Shelton
  21. Jonathan Couch
  22. Todd Coffman
  23. Jared Bailey
  24. Michael Chilton
  25. Wesley Brummett
presented by
Lindsey Dunn
Jared Hawkins is all smiles in Richmond Raceway's victory lane.
What won the race: Inheriting the lead when race-long leader Tommy Bailey of Corbin, Ky., crashed into the turn-four guardrail on lap 47 of 50, polesitter Jared Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., led the final circuits for a $5,000 Ultimate Battle of the Bluegrass Series victory in Richmond Raceway's Butch Shay Memorial.
Quotable: "I guess the saying goes I'd rather be lucky than good, and (Bailey), he had it in the bag tonight," winner Jared Hawkins said. "I hate it for him. It's awesome racing with Eric (Wells). It's always fun with him."
Key notes: Hawkins scored his first career UBoB victory. He ran third in Richmond’s $10,000-to-win Mike Roland Memorial last month. … Charging to the front of the field at the drop of the green flag, second-starting Bailey broke a tie rod with three laps remaining in the 50-lapper, sending him into the turn-four wall. The race was red-flagged while the guardrail was repaired. … Michael Chilton drew the first caution on lap three when he slowed in turns one and two. … A yellow flag waved on lap five when Jared Bailey lost a tire and C.J. Ruble spun on the frontstretch. … Todd Coffman drew a caution on lap 11. … A yellow waved on lap 13 when Chad Stapleton spun entering turn three. … Skylar Marlar slowed in turns one and two to draw a lap-33 caution. … A yellow flag flew on lap 38 when John Whitney slowed with a flat tire.
On the move: Jason Jameson of Lawrenceburg, Ind., started ninth and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Hawkins's Tim Logan Racing Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Sunoco Race Fuel, X-Treme Graphics, Hoosier and Out-Pace Racing Products.
Points chase: Entering Saturday's event Kent Robinson of Bloomington, Ind., had 66 points to lead Chad Stapleton (63) and Austin Burns.
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Duane Chamberlain
Time: 14.682 seconds
Polesitter: Jared Hawkins
Heat race winners: Jared Hawkins, Tommy Bailey, Eric Wells
Next series race: July 25, Jackson County Speedway (Jackson, OH) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Hawkins, Bailey
Row 2: Wells, Chamberlain
Row 3: Fisher, Coffman
Row 4: Chilton, Stapleton
Row 5: Jameson, Dial
Row 6: Tungate, Marlar
Row 7: Despain, Whitney
Row 8: Golden, Barrett
Row 9: Couch, Brown
Row 10: Ruble, Shelton
Row 11: McDonald, Burns
Row 12: Noctchie, Brummett
Row 13: Bailey

Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728