Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1235
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/06/2022 04:58:26

Sponsor 743
July 6
Lake Ozark Speedway,
Eldon, MO
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and staff reports (last updated July 7, 2:15 pm)
Vaught wins wild Lake Ozark opener
  1. Will Vaught
  2. Jesse Stovall
  3. Tony Jackson Jr.
  4. Jeremy Grady
  5. Terry Phillips
  6. Mitch McGrath
  7. J.C. Wyman
  8. Austin Siebert
  9. Payton Looney
  10. Rickey Frankel
  11. Cole Wells
  12. Joey Stark
  13. Reid Millard
  14. Jeff Roth
  15. Chad Simpson
  16. Logan Martin
  17. Mason Oberkramer
  18. Mark Burgtorf
presented by
Lloyd Collins/fasttrackphotos.net
Will Vaught (1v) leads Logan Martin and Chad Simpson at Lake Ozark.
What won the race: Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., who led most of the way before falling to fourth place on lap 22, benefitted from a Logan Martin-Chad Simpson tangle to win Friday's Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association event at Lake Ozark Speedway. Vaught fought off 13th-starting Jesse Stovall over the final eight laps to earn $3,000.
Quotable: "That was unfortunate for Chad and Logan there. I think we was going to have a good race there," Vaught said. "Leading the race, it was hard to tell where the (best) line was ... my car was changing, the track was changing, and those guys were getting the top going. We're just fortunate enough to pull off this win."
Key notes: The victory was Vaught's second MLRA victory of the season, and his ninth career series victory. ... Chad Simpson regained the lead from Vaught on lap 20 and was in control when Logan Martin's attempted pass crashed both drivers in turn two; Vaught, who had slipped to fourth behind Stovall, was reset as the leader for the next restart and held off Stovall. ... Terry Phillips rebounded from an early flat tire to finish fifth. ... Action continues Saturday at Lake Ozark with the $5,000-to-win weekend finale. ... MLRA returned to the third-mile oval for the first time since 2007.
On the move: Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., started 13th and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: Vaught's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Johnson's Service Station, Wright Asphalt Products, Keyser Manufacturing, Integra Racing Shocks and GW Performance.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, had 1,055 points to lead Tony Jackson Jr. (957) and Will Vaught (921).
Car count: 19
Polesitter: Logan Martin
Heat race winners: Logan Martin, Chad Simpson, Will Vaught
Next series race: July 7, Lake Ozark Speedway (Eldon, MO) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Martin, Vaught
Row 2: Simpson, Oberkramer
Row 3: Jackson, Phillips
Row 4: Frankel, McGrath
Row 5: Grady, Wyman
Row 6: Burgtorf, Wells
Row 7: Stovall, Looney
Row 8: Roth, Millard
Row 9: Seibert, Stark
Row 10: Godsey

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728