Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/26/2022 16:22:51

Sponsor 743
July 5
Magnolia Motor Speedway,
Columbus, MS
Sanction: Comp Cams Super Dirt Series - $2,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated July 6, 11:10 am)
Speedy Baggett earns first Comp Cams win
  1. Neil Baggett
  2. Cade Dillard
  3. Chad Thrash
  4. Jack Sullivan
  5. Kyle Beard
  6. Shay Knight
  7. Brian Rickman
  8. Hunter Rasdon
  9. Chandler Petty
  10. Spencer Hughes
  11. B.J. Robinson
  12. Gavin Landers
  13. Tanner Kellick
  14. Jake Davis
  15. Rick Rickman
  16. Josh Putnam
  17. Michael Arnold
  18. Brett White
  19. Clay Fisher
  20. David Payne
presented by
Woody Hampton/woodyhamptonphotos.com
Neil Baggett steers toward his first Comp Cams Super Dirt Series victory.
What won the race: Neil Baggett was flawless Thursday at his hometown's Magnolia Motor Speedway, leading the 35-lap feature flag-to-flag for his first-ever victory on the Comp Cams Super Dirt Series. He kept Cade Dillard at bay throughout, beating the Robeline, La., driver to the finish line by 0.572 of a second to earn $2,000.
Quotable: "Man, I grew up around here watching guys like Don Hester race and I always dreamed of doing it," Baggett said in victory lane. "I've got to thank Montgomery Farms and all of these great supporters who allow my dreams to come true. We had a great car tonight and I just had to make sure I didn’t beat myself. I jumped the cushion in turn three with a few laps remaining and Cade (Dillard) could have slid me dirty, but he didn’t. That’s something I’ll definitely remember the next time, if the roles are reversed.”
Key notes: The second-starting Baggett outgunned polesitter Hunter Rasdon for the lead at the initial green flag and never looked back. ... Baggett's career-first CCSDS triumph came less than two weeks after he captured a Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series win at Hattiesburg (Miss.) Speedway. ... Caution flags slowed the feature on laps three and 22. ... Magnolia kicked off a tripleheader Mississippi weekend for the CCSDS that continues Friday at Jackson Motor Speedway and concludes Saturday at Greenville Speedway.
On the move: Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., started 14th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Baggett’s Prate Montgomery-owned Rocket Chassis is powered by a Jay Dickens engine and sponsored by Montgomery Farms, Jamie’s Body Shop, FJH Logging, Doug’s Auto Sales, RTC Towing, Highway 19 North Speed Shop, Bo’s Satellite Service and Advanced Logistics.
Points chase: Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., remained atop the points standings with a fourth-place finish.
Car count: 26
Fast qualifier: Brian Rickman
Time: 13.497 seconds
Polesitter: Hunter Rasdon
Heat race winners: Hunter Rasdon, Neil Baggett, Rick Rickman
Consolation race winners: Tanner Kellick
Next series race: July 6, Jackson Motor Speedway (Byram, MS) $2,541
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Rasdon, Baggett
Row 2: R. Rickman, Dillard
Row 3: Robinson, Thrash
Row 4: Sullivan. S. Knight
Row 5: Petty, B. Rickman
Row 6: Hughes, C. Fisher
Row 7: Putnam, Beard
Row 8: Landers, Kellick
Row 9: Arnold, White
Row 10: Davis, Payne

Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728