Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1235
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/02/2022 07:54:04

Sponsor 743
July 3
Tazewell Speedway,
Tazewell, TN
Sanction: Schaeffer's Fall Nationals - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 4, 2:24 pm)
Tazewell's wild 40-lapper goes to Wells
  1. Eric Wells
  2. Brian Smith
  3. David Payne
  4. Chicky Barton
  5. Clyde Overholt
  6. Matt Tharpe
  7. Jeff Neubert
  8. Joey Standridge
  9. Mitchell Childress
  10. Mitchell Burke
  11. Brad Dyer
  12. Lynn Leach
  13. Aaron Ridley
  14. Chad Ogle
  15. Vic Hill
  16. Steve Smith
  17. Dakotah Knuckles
  18. Layne Clifton
  19. Eric Webber
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
Eric Wells (18) gets under Brian Smith (7) to grab the Tazewell lead.
What won the race: Ending a long absence from victory lane, Eric Wells of Hazard, Ky., overtook Brian Smith for the lead on lap 19 and went to capture Tuesday night's wild, caution-filled 40-lap feature co-sanctioned by the Schaeffer's Southern Nationals Bonus Series and Iron-Man Series at Tazewell Speedway. He crossed the finish line 3.057 seconds ahead of Smith, who led three laps after the demise of early leader Dakotah Knuckles.
Quotable: "I told my guys before we went out, I was going to try to maintain for about 20 (laps), then give it what I had for the last 20," winner Eric Wells said. "Because last time we was here, we got the lead and I overworked my tires and we ended up fifth. We made notes and learned from it."
Key notes: A caution erased the winner's first pass for the lead. ... Wells got his first victory since Nov. 5, 2016, when he won the Fall Classic at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky. ... He has two victories apiece on the Schaeffer's Southern Nationals Bonus Series and Iron-Man Series. ... A lap-17 frontstretch tangle included contenders Chad Ogle, Chicky Barton and Jeff Neubert. ... The feature's early leader, Dakotah Knuckles of Ewing, Va., retired to the pits with a loose oil line on lap 17.
On the move: David Payne of Murphy, N.C., started 16th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Wells drives a Longhorn Chassis powered by a Cornett Race Engine and sponsored by Penske Racing Shocks and Allstar Performance.
Points chase: David Payne of Murphy, N.C., moved into the points lead over Aaron Ridley, who to the pits with problems and retired on the 17th lap.
Car count: 19
Fast qualifier: Dakotah Knuckles
Time: 11.491 seconds
Polesitter: Brian Smith
Next series race: August 18, North Georgia Speedway (Chatsworth, GA) $10,000
Editor's note: Corrects finishers 13-16.

Feature lineup

Row 1: B. Smith, Knuckles
Row 2: Ogle, Wells
Row 3: Ridley, Hill
Row 4: Barton, Neubert
Row 5: Overholt, Clifton
Row 6: S. Smith, Leech
Row 7: Tharpe, Standridge
Row 8: Burke, Payne
Row 9: Childress, Weber
Row 10: Dyer

Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728