Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/26/2022 17:11:46

Sponsor 743
June 30
Salina Highbanks Speedway,
Salina, OK
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (ARMI Freedom Classic) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated July 1, 10:49 am)
Stovall caps Salina double with $5,000 score
ARMI Freedom Classic
  1. Jesse Stovall
  2. Logan Martin
  3. Jason Hughes
  4. Will Vaught
  5. Tony Jackson Jr.
  6. Jake Neal
  7. Chad Simpson
  8. B.J. Robinson
  9. Jack Sullivan
  10. Cade Dillard
  11. J.C. Wyman
  12. Hunter Rasdon
  13. Billy Moyer Jr.
  14. Gavin Landers
  15. Scott Crigler
  16. Mitch McGrath
  17. Payton Looney
  18. Jon Mitchell
  19. Jeremy Grady
  20. Tanner Kellick
  21. Jake Davis
  22. Jeff Roth
  23. Austin Theiss
presented by
Jesse Stovall celebrates his $5,000 victory at Salina with his son.
What won the race: Capping the fifth annual ARMI Freedom Classic weekend in fine fashion, Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., drove to a $5,000 victory in Saturday night's 40-lap feature co-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Association and Comp Cams Super Dirt Series at Salina Highbanks Speedway. The race's fourth starter grabbed the lead from Logan Martin on lap 23 and took the checkered flag 0.634 of a second before Logan Martin, who settled for a season-best MLRA finish of second after starting from the outside pole.
Quotable: "I knew there would be a caution or two, hopefully. But if not, you're going to catch the tail of the field and you're going to start working the cars and doing some different stuff. It all played out, you couldn't have asked it to have been any better," said Stovall, who won Salina's holiday weekend special for the third time. "I love this place, it's probably one of my favorite racetracks. I've run good here in the past; this place is just phenomenal."
Key notes: Stovall recorded his second MLRA triumph of 2018 and his first in Comp Cams Series action. ... Modified ace Jason Hughes of Westville, Okla., finished third after leading laps 1-19, scoring his second consecutive top-five finish in Shannon Scott’s No. 4. Rocket Chassis. Before the weekend, the 2014 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Rookie of the Year last drove a Late Model in 2016. ... Three caution flags in the final 14 laps kept Stovall from dealing with lapped traffic. ... Friday night winner Chad Simpson finished seventh. ... Due to excessive heat, Saturday's start time was pushed back to 8 p.m.
On the move: Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., advanced from the 21st starting spot to finish 13th.
Winner's sponsors: Stovall’s Black Diamond Chassis is powered by a Scott Bailey Racing Engine and sponsored by driveWFX.com, Malvern Bank, Midwest Sheet Metal, Swafford’s Service, MTS and Rushin Towing.
Points chase: MLRA entering weekend: Chad Simpson (861) of Mount Vernon, Iowa, leads Tony Jackson Jr. (787), Will Vaught (737), Payton Looney (692) and Mitch McGrath (667). Comp Cams entering weekend: Jack Sullivan (1,376) of Greenbrier, Ark., leads B.J. Robinson (1,278), Hunter Rasdon (1,269), Gavin Landers (1,190) and Tanner Kellick (1,186).
Car count: 22
Heat race winners: Jason Hughes, Jake Neal, Logan Martin, Jesse Stovall
Next series race: July 6, Lake Ozark Speedway (Eldon, MO) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Hughes, Martin
Row 2: Neal, Stovall
Row 3: Robinson, Jackson Jr.
Row 4: Vaught, Davis
Row 5: Sullivan, Dillard
Row 6: Simpson, Rasdon
Row 7: Wyman, Crigler
Row 8: Mitchell, Landers
Row 9: Theiss, Looney
Row 10: McGrath, Moyer Jr.
Row 11: Kellick, Roth
Row 12: Grady

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728