Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 10:24:47

Sponsor 743
June 29
Salina Highbanks Speedway,
Salina, OK
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (ARMI Freedom Classic) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 30, 10:31 am)
Chad Simpson wins Freedom Classic at Salina
ARMI Freedom Classic
  1. Chad Simpson
  2. Payton Looney
  3. Cade Dillard
  4. Jason Hughes
  5. Logan Martin
  6. Jack Sullivan
  7. B.J. Robinson
  8. Will Vaught
  9. Mitch McGrath
  10. Billy Moyer Jr.
  11. Tony Jackson Jr.
  12. Hunter Rasdon
  13. Jon Mitchell
  14. Cole Wells
  15. Jake Neal
  16. Jake Davis
  17. Tanner Kellick
  18. Jeff Roth
  19. Raymond Merrill
  20. David Payne
  21. Jesse Stovall
  22. J.C. Wyman
  23. Jeremy Grady
  24. Gavin Landers
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Chad Simpson heads to a $3,000 victory in Salina, Okla.
What won the race: Polesitter Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, outran fifth-starting Payton Looney of Republic, Mo., to emerge victorious in Friday night's opening round of the fifth annual ARMI Freedom Classic at Salina Highbanks Speedway. He pocketed $3,000 for his victory in the 30-lap event co-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Association and Comp Cams Super Dirt Series.
Quotable: “That lapped traffic was a little tricky there a few times,” said Simpson. “I knew it held me up a little bit to much. I needed to get my butt going ‘cause I figured those guys were coming. We had a little motor problem there. I think it’s better. I don’t know if it’s 100 percent yet, but it ran good out there right then.”
Key notes: Simpson recorded his second win of the 2018 season, the last of his long partnership with team owners Bud and Denis Brinkman, who are retiring at the end of the campaign. His previous victory came in a May 4 MLRA show at Davenport (Iowa) Speedway. ... Payton Looney finished 1.072 seconds behind in the runner-up spot for his best MLRA run of the season. ... USMTS modified star Jason Hughes finished fourth in his first Dirt Late Model start since the rain-shortened Freedom Classic in 2016. The '14 Lucas Oil Series Rookie of the Year drove Shannon Scott's No. 4. ... Tony Jackson Jr., who is second in MLRA points, salvaged an 11th-place finish in a borrowed car after using a provisional to start the feature. His own machine was sidelined when he made hard contact with the turn-four wall while bidding for the B-main's lead. ... The MLRA-Comp Cams weekend concludes Saturday with another complete program paying $5,000 to win. Due to the warm temps, the start time has been backed up one hour to 8 p.m.
On the move: Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., started 14th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson's Black Diamond Chassis has a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and is sponsored by Liebe Trucking, GATR Truck Center, Diercks Ltd., Simpson Farms, Graves Oil, Allstar Performance, Wehrs Machine, Dyer's Top Rods, Performance Bodies, Master Built Concrete, Cen-Pe-Co and Phase2Sign Supply.
Points chase: MLRA: Chad Simpson (861) of Mount Vernon, Iowa, led Tony Jackson Jr. (787), Will Vaught (737), Payton Looney (692) and Mitch McGrath (667). CCSDS: Jack Sullivan (1,376) of Greenbrier, Ark., led B.J. Robinson (1,278), Hunter Rasdon (1,269), Gavin Landers (1,190) and Tanner Kellick (1,186).
Car count: 31
Polesitter: Chad Simpson
Heat race winners: Cade Dillard, Logan Martin, J.C. Wyman, Chad Simpson
Next series race: June 30, Salina Highbanks Speedway (Salina, OK) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728