Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 11:05:44

Sponsor 743
June 19
Belle-Clair Speedway,
Belleville, IL
Sanction: DIRTcar Summer Nationals - $5,000
Information provided by: Todd Turner (last updated June 20, 9:01 am)
Rain washes out Belle-Clair Summer Nationals
Todd Turner/DirtonDirt.com
Nick Hoffman rolls around the fifth-mile oval before hot laps.
Key notes: Rain that hit after time trials washed out the sixth leg of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals; no makeup date was immediately announced. ... The race was also rained out last season. ... Through five series races, Shannon Babb has a series-best three wins while Billy Drake and Billy Moyer have one apiece. … Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., won three straight Summer Nationals races at Belle-Clair from 2014-’16.
Points chase: Before Belle-Clair: 1. Shannon Babb (337); 2. Billy Moyer (332); 3. Brian Shirley (293); 4. Jason Feger (259); 5. Brandon Thirlby (251); 6. Rusty Schlenk (249); 7. Ryan Unzicker (248); 8. Nick Hoffman (243); 9. Tony Jackson Jr. (231); 10. Timothy Culp (229); 11. Billy Moyer Jr. (226); 12. Gordy Gundaker (178).
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Brian Shirley
Time: 12.054 seconds
Next series race: June 20, Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
By Todd Turner
DirtonDirt.com managing editor

BELLEVILLE, Ill. — Live updates from the sixth leg of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals at the fifth-mile Belle-Clair Speedway for an event capped by a $5,000-to-win Super Late Model feature (results unofficial):

Rained out

Blustery winds and rain — starting lightly and then getting heavier — blew in at the conclusion of the B-mod heats, washing out the event; no makeup date was immediately set. Late Model haulers were pulling out of the pits as the rain picked up.

Late Models had completed qualifying with Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., posting a 12.054-second lap to set fast time for the fourth time in six series events, but if the event is made up the program will start from scratch.

Pre-race setup

Tiny Belle-Clair Speedway brings the DIRTcar Summer Nationals back to action after the first scheduled day off of the grueling month-long tour.

Four-time series champion Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., who won three races in a row last week among the first five series events, tops the points of the $25,000 title chase so far with Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., and Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., in pursuit.

Besides those drivers and another half-dozen or so who have competed at all five events, three-time and reigning series champion Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., is expected to compete. Pierce has won the previous three series races at Belle-Clair and will be competing while he appeals a DIRTcar suspension and monetary penalties after one of his tires used at Eldora Speedway’s Dream XXIV failed to meet manufacturer specs in postrace lab testing.

The Super Late Model program starts with hot laps followed by group time trials broken down by three heat races transferring five drivers apiece; a B-main and provisionals will set the remainder of the 22-car field.

Pre-race notes

Rusty Griffaw of Festus, Mo., leads Belle-Clair’s weekly points over Mike Hammerle and Chad Zobrist. … Late Model winners so far this season at Belle-Clair are Zobrist, Daryn Klein (Midwest Big 10 Series) and Brian Shirley (MARS Racing Series). … Thirty-seven drivers have competed at the track through mid-June. … DIRTcar Summer Nationals Legends Week, which covers about 750 miles for six races starting at Belle-Clair and ending at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind., carries a $5,000 points fund sponsored by DirtonDirt.com with $2,000 going to the top points earner. … Shannon Babb picked up the $2,000 on Kickoff Week sponsored by U-Pic-A-Part.

Time trials (unofficial)

(Heat races start straightup by time)
First group
Nick Hoffman (2), Mooresville, N.C., 12.066
Tony Jackson Jr. (56), Lebanon, Mo., 12.090
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 12.545
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 12.577
Luke Goedert (44), Guttenberg, Iowa, 12.671
Paul Stubber (31aus), Bunbury, Australia, 12.832
Mark Voigt (30), Marine, Ill., 12.889
Bob Gardner (4G), East Peoria, Ill., 13.049
Matt Santel (17x), New Memphis, Ill., 13.364
Blaze Burwell (44), Mount Vernon, Ill., 13.918
Second group
Brian Shirley (3S), Chatham, Ill., 12.054
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 12.291
Daryn Klein (10), Fairview Heights, Ill., 12.340
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 12.491
Frank Heckenast Jr. (99jr), Frankfort, Ill., 12.564
Billy Moyer (21), Batesville, Ark., 12.592
Dan Jacober (22), Highland, Ill., 12.671
Corey Ford (84), Belleville, Ill., 12.866
Brent McKinnon (26m), Carlyle, Ill., 13.117
Third group
Gordy Gundaker (11), St. Charles, Mo., 12.173
Bobby Pierce (32), Oakwood, Ill., 12.327
Michael Kloos (6K), Trenton, Ill., 12.509
Chad Zobrist (78), Highland, Ill., 12.563
Rusty Griffaw (16), Festus, Mo., 12.596
Rusty Schlenk (91), McClure, Ohio, 12.672
Timothy Culp (C8), Prattsville, Ark., 12.738
Mike Hammerle (16), St. Charles, Mo., 12.952
Dave Jacober (7), Highland, Ill., 13.942

Tuesday’s schedule

4 p.m.: Pill draw opens
5:30 p.m.: Drivers’ meeting
6 p.m.: Hot laps
- Modified hot laps/time trials
- Late Model time trials (2 laps)
- B-mod hot laps
Opening ceremonies
- Modified heats (8 laps)
- Late Model heats (10 laps)
- B-mod heats
- Modified B-main (10 laps; if needed)
- Late Model B-main (12 laps; if needed)
- B-mod B-main (10 laps; if needed)
Intermission/track prep
- Modified feature (25 laps)
- Late Model feature (40 laps)
- B-mod feature

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728