Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 10:29:43

Sponsor 743
June 16
Oakshade Raceway,
Wauseon, OH
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series (Barney Oldfield Race) - $5,400
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated June 18, 11:28 am)
Kester collects career-high $5,400 at Oakshade
Barney Oldfield Race
  1. Steve Kester
  2. Dona Marcoullier
  3. Devin Shiels
  4. Casey Noonan
  5. Ryan Missler
  6. Travis Stemler
  7. Matt Shipley
  8. Brian Ruhlman
  9. Jeff Geis
  10. Chris Sands
  11. Ken Hahn
  12. Brett Miller
  13. Ron Miller
  14. Dan Wallace
  15. Rody Schroyer
  16. Jeff Warnick
  17. Brad Wade
  18. Matt Lindsey
  19. Steve Miller
  20. Jon Henry
  21. Chuck Hummer
  22. Dan Gehring
presented by
Charlie Orns/freezeframefoto.com
Steve Kester picks up his career-best $5,400 paycheck.
What won the race: Track points leader Steve Kester of Holland, Ohio, earned a career-high $5,400 and his first Sunoco American Late Model Series victory Saturday at Oakshade Raceway. Kester won the 29th annual Barney Oldfield Race over fellow second-row starter Dona Marcoullier of Houghton Lake, Mich.
Key notes: Kester scored his third victory of the season at Oakshade. ... ALMS points leader Casey Noonan rallied after winning a consolation race to finish fourth in the main event. ... Polesitter Dan Wallace led early but retired with three laps remaining ... Jon Henry retired running second on lap 18. ... Brad Wade spun out of the top five. ... A lap-29 pileup drew a red flag; th eincident involved Wade, Ken Hahn, Steve Miller and Matt Lindsey. ... Dating back to 2017, the ALMS tour hasn't had a repeat winner in its last nine events. ... The Barney Oldfield Race pays tribute to the Wauseon native and pioneering auto racer who competed in the Indianapolis 500 amid a dazzling career. ... ALMS competitors return to Oakshade on Sept. 1.
On the move: Devin Shiels of Britton, Mich., started 14th and finished third; Casey Noonan started 16th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Kester's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Baumann Auto Group Genoa, Dave Geist Body Shop, Hy-Way Fleet Services and T&J Excavating.
Points chase: Entering the race, Casey Noonan of Sylvania, Ohio, had 227 points to lead Devin Gilpin (205) and Jon Henry (195) in the ALMS chase.
Car count: 31
Polesitter: Dan Wallace
Heat race winners: Jon Henry, Dan Wallace, Dona Marcoullier
Consolation race winners: Casey Noonan
Next series race: June 29, I-96 Speedway (Lake Odessa, MI) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Wallace, Henry
Row 2: Marcoullier, Kester
Row 3: Shipley, Sands
Row 4: Stemler, Geis
Row 5: Schroyer, Wade
Row 6: Missler, B. Miller
Row 7: Ruhlman, Shiels
Row 8: Warnick, Noonan
Row 9: Lindsey, Hahn
Row 10: S. Miller, Hummer
Row 11: R. Miller, Gehring

Sponsor 985
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728