Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 13:30:57

Sponsor 743
July 5
Tazewell Speedway,
Tazewell, TN
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events - $5,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen and Chris Tilley (last updated July 6, 2:36 pm)
Cook tames Tazewell for $5,000 victory
  1. Ray Cook
  2. Justin Rattliff
  3. Chad Ogle
  4. Brad Neat
  5. Dennis Roberson
  6. Bobby Mays
  7. Casey Roberts
  8. Austin Smith
  9. Kenny Collins
  10. Stacy Boles
  11. Vic Hill
  12. Jody Horton
  13. Bo Eaton
  14. Lavon Sparks
  15. Bryan Hendrix
  16. Steve Smith
presented by
Michael Moats/mrmracing.net
A three-wide lead battle among Ray Cook (53), Vic Hill (1) and Brad Neat (16n).
What won the race: In a three-car battle for the lead, second-running Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C., inherited the point after a lap-15 tangle between race leader Vic Hill of Morristown, Tenn., and third-running Brad Neat of Dunnville, Ky., sent both drivers to the tail of the field. Cook comfortably lead the remaining distance for a $5,000 victory. Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, Ky., finished second with Chad Ogle of Sevierville, Tenn., in third.
Key notes: Cook typically does not compete in events which he promotes, but because the race offered no points for finishing position he elected to join the fray. ... The race was slowed by seven cautions. ... A lap-seven yellow flew for Bobby Mays, who spun while running fifth. ... Hill and Neat drew the lap-15 caution, with the ensuing restart resulting in a pileup involving Jody Horton, Brian Hendrix and Steve Smith. ... The final yellow was thrown on lap 35 for Lavon Sparks when he slowed on the racetrack. ... Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., and Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Ky., scratched from the 40-lap feature event after experiencing troubles in time trials. ... All entrants were locked into the feature event via qualifying. ... Tazewell hosted second of two Southern Nationals Bonus Races over the holiday. ... Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., won the sister July 4 event at Tri-County Racetrack in Brasstown, N.C. ... The track hosts a $5,300-to-win event on Aug. 2 to conclude the Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals.
On the move: Forced to the rear of the field after drawing a caution, Neat charged back to finish fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Cook drove a MasterSbilt Race Car with a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and sponsorship from A+ Moving & Storage, Co., Hoosier Racing Tire, Integra Shocks, K&N Performance Filters, Old Man's Garage, Phillips Properties, Performance Rod and Custom, Schaeffer Oil, Tommy Pope Construction and VP Racing Fuels.
Car count: 18
Fast qualifier: VicĀ Hill
Time: 11.734 seconds
Polesitter: VicĀ Hill
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728