Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 10:20:07

Sponsor 743
June 2
Volusia Speedway Park,
Barberville, FL
Sanction: Florida Late Model Challenge Series - $1,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 3, 3:50 pm)
Smith cruises to Florida Challenge Series win
  1. Shan Smith
  2. Nevin Gainey
  3. Brian Smith
  4. Trever Taylor
  5. Shane Williams
  6. David Whitener
  7. Caleb McGillivray
  8. Terry Wilds
  9. Erik McElroy
  10. Donnie Padgett
  11. Adam Bennett
  12. Don Sniff
  13. Arthur Conquest
  14. Mikey Kopka
  15. Mark Steube
  16. Jonathan Thomas
  17. Gordon Peck
  18. Chuck Jackson
  19. Bug Rose
  20. Lisa O'Connor
  21. Roger Thomas
  22. Timmie King
  23. John Bledsoe
presented by
Dave Shank/daveshankphoto.com
Shan Smith captured his third career Florida Late Model Challenge victory.
What won the race: Shan Smith of Dade City, Fla., outran Nevin Gainey to capture Saturday’s Florida Late Model Challenge Series feature at Volusia Speedway Park. Smith earned $1,000 for third career series victory and first of the season.
Key notes: Smith finished 2.707 seconds ahead of Gainey. … Thirteen of the 23 starters completed all 25 laps. ... Volusia hosted the second-year Florida tour for the second of four visits this season. … Gainey of Fort White, Fla., won the series opener at Volusia on March 17. … Gainey has two series wins this season, while Smith and Phillip Cobb have one apiece.. … Richard Ferry won a pair of series races at Volusia last season. Smith won one.
Who to watch: Kevin Gainey of Fort White, Fla., has two series wins.
Points chase: Nevin Gainey (216) of Fort White, Fla., leads Shan Smith (206), Brian Smith (193), Adam Bennett (187) and Trever Taylor (185).
Expected entrants: Nevin Gainey, Shan Smith, Trever Taylor, Adam Bennett, Brian Smith, John Bledsoe, Sonny Thompson, David Whitener, Johnny Allen, Jamie Dayhaw, Shane Williams and others.
Car count: 25
Next series race: June 30, All-Tech Raceway (Ellisville, FL) $1,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728