Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/29/2022 18:31:51

Sponsor 743
May 26
Thunderbird Raceway,
Muskegon, MI
Sanction: American Ethanol Late Model Tour (DIRTcar) (Allstar Performance 40) - $4,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 27, 9:36 am)
Spangler outduels Mielke for Thunderbird win
Allstar Performance 40
  1. Eric Spangler
  2. David Mielke
  3. Rich Bell
  4. Nick Kurtz
  5. Steve Casebolt
  6. Brandon Thirlby
  7. Travis Stemler
  8. Dona Marcoullier
  9. Greg Gokey
  10. Rich Neiser
  11. Shawn Reed Jr.
  12. Bill Bray
  13. Phil Ausra
  14. Brad Mann
  15. Jeramy Lange
  16. Logan Arntz
  17. Ryan VanderVeen
  18. Kevin Nelson Jr.
  19. Andy Sprague
  20. Rob Taylor
  21. Jeff Robertson
  22. Kevin Reeve
  23. Tom Sprague Jr.
  24. Kory Maurice
  25. Gregg Haskell
presented by
Steve Datema
Eric Spangler tunes up before his fifth career Ethanol Tour victory.
What won the race: Second-starting Eric Spangler of Lake City, Mich., won a back-and-forth duel with fellow front-row starter David Mielke on Saturday at Thunderbird Raceway for a $4,000 American Ethanol Late Model Tour victory. Spangler took the checkers 1.555 seconds ahead of Mielke in the 40-lapper.
Key notes: Spangler, who has five career series victories, also won last season's tour race at Thunderbird. ... David Mielke led laps 1-3 and 15-20; Spangler led virtually the rest of the way. ... Thirteen drivers completed 40 laps. ... After entering the weekend atop the tour's point standings, Rusty Schlenk of McClure, Ohio, was suspended for Saturday's event after an altercation with Rich Bell the previous evening at I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Mich. ... The Ethanol tour's lone visit to Thunderbird drew a near-capacity crowd. … Rich Neiser owns the track record at 12.734 seconds.
On the move: Steve Casebolt of Richmond, Ind., started ninth and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Spangler's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Spangler Heating & Cooling, Cyclo Products, Forbes Construction & Excavation, Mark Mitchell P.C., Atkins Electric, Taco Boy, A&L Trading Post, Babb Ford, Goodman H&C and Xtreme GrafX.
Points chase: Before I-96, Rusty Schlenk (165) of McClure, Ohio, led ahead of Steve Casebolt (160), Brandon Thirlby (128), Dona Marcoullier (125) and Doug Drown (125).
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Brandon Thirlby
Time: 12.504 seconds
Polesitter: David Mielke
Heat race winners: Ryan VanderVeen, Eric Spangler, Steve Casebolt
Next series race: June 6, Merritt Speedway (Lake City, MI) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Mielke, Spangler
Row 2: Thirlby, VanderVeen
Row 3: Kurtz, Bell
Row 4: Reed, Arntz
Row 5: Casebolt, Gokey
Row 6: Marcoullier, Maurice
Row 7: Stemler, A. Sprague
Row 8: Nelson, Neiser
Row 9: Mann, Ausra
Row 10: Haskell, Reeve
Row 11: Robertson, Bray
Row 12: Taylor, T. Sprague
Row 13: Lange

Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728