Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/04/2022 09:08:40

Sponsor 743
July 3
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA (Salute to America Nationals) - $2,000
Information provided by: Roby Helm (last updated July 5, 5:00 pm)
Smith captures holiday weekend opener at TST
Salute to America Nationals
  1. Jeff Smith
  2. Todd Morrow
  3. Cruz Skinner
  4. Chris Noah
  5. Adam Gauldin
  6. Montana Dudley
  7. Josh Adkins
  8. Chip Brindle
  9. Ronnie Johnson
  10. Mack McCarter
  11. Grant Pearl
  12. Tanner Works
  13. Jimmy Elliott
  14. Kyle Clifton
  15. Lee Burdette
  16. Marcus Minga
  17. Chase Edge
  18. Johnny Stokes
  19. T.J. Brittain
  20. Rodgerick Dykes
  21. Michael Blount
  22. Josh Trammell
  23. Justin McRee
  24. Shay Knight
presented by
Phillip Prichard
Jeff Smith dominated Crate Late Model action at Talladega.
What won the race: Sweeping the night, Jeff Smith of Rocky Face, Ga., set fast time and led all 40 laps for his second career series victory. Todd Morrow finished .413 seconds behind at the checkers and never seriously challenged Smith.
Quotable: “We brought the same set up here that we use at Boyd’s Speedway, and the fast right out of the box tonight,” Smith said. “I was a little anxious towards the end of the race in lapped traffic because you never know how close someone is to you. This was a good opportunity for us here tonight because we love running at Talladega Short Track and we love running with the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series. We got the best of both worlds tonight.”
Key notes: Cruz Skinner, 12, was third at a track where he has three weekly victories in 2014. ... The feature was slowed by a single caution when Shay Knight slowed in turn two on the 11th lap. ... Seventeen cars finished on the lead lap and 21 of 24 starters were running at the finish. ... Series competitors continue with three more Fourth of July weekend events.
On the move: Ronnie Johnson started 23rd and finished ninth; he had to take a provisional starting spot after failling to go through pre-qualifying technical inspection.
Winner's sponsors: Smith's Hill Motorsports Warrior Race Car is sponsored by RCM Expedited Services, Josh Roberts, Trucking, Herriman Landscaping and Soymet Fuels.
Points chase: Ronnie Johnson has a 12-point lead on Mack McCarter.
Car count: 44
Fast qualifier: Jeff Smith
Time: 14.676 seconds
Polesitter: Jeff Smith
Consolation race winners: Tanner Works, Marcus Minga, Jimmy Elliott
Provisional starters: Ronnie Johnson, Michael Blount
Next series race: July 5, Arkadelphia Speedway (Bremen, AL) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728