Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 15:01:55

Sponsor 743
May 12
Magnolia Motor Speedway,
Columbus, MS
Sanction: Comp Cams Super Dirt Series - $2,500
Information provided by: Ben Shelton and series reports (last updated May 13, 8:27 am)
Robinson takes Comp Cams victory at Magnolia
  1. B.J. Robinson
  2. Gavin Landers
  3. Chandler Petty
  4. Spencer Hughes
  5. Shay Knight
  6. Shane Stephens
  7. Hunter Rasdon
  8. Tombo Callahan
  9. Tanner Kellick
  10. Jack Sullivan
  11. Rick Rickman
  12. Jamie Tollison
  13. Brian Rickman
  14. Scott Dedwylder
  15. Klint Byars
  16. Brett White
  17. Robby Moore
  18. Kyle Shaw
  19. Dane Dacus
  20. David Payne
presented by
Chris McDill
B.J. Robinson won his first Comp Cams Super Dirt Series event.
What won the race: Sixth-starting B.J. Robinson of Bossier City, La., charged to the front after early front runners Jack Sullivan and Brian Rickman had trouble and went on to capture a $2,500 Comp Camps Super Dirt Series victory at Magnolia Motor Speedway. Robinson finished 5.369 seconds ahead of runner up Gavin Landers.
Quotable: “We’ve been so close to getting one of these (Comp Cam Series wins), and just kept coming up short, but tonight all of the cards fell our way,” said Robinson. “Even before (Jack) Sullivan and (Rick) Rickman had their mechanical troubles our car was starting to come around and I felt like we had a shot to win. The track was really challenging tonight, but I’m proud to finally win one here. I just wish that Mr. David Peterson could have been here tonight for this win because he’s done so much to support my racing career.”
Key notes: Robinson scored his first Comp Cams victory. ... Polesitter Chandler Petty led the first 10 laps before giving way to Brian Rickman, who led until lap 16. … After taking over on a restart, Jack Sullivan paced the field until retiring with mechanical trouble on lap 30. … Robinson inherited the lead from Sullivan and held off a charging Gavin Landers. … There have been eight winners in the first 10 series events. … Series winner Robert Baker’s night ended early after a vicious end-over-end flip in qualifying. He was uninjured.
On the move: Gavin Landers of Batesville, Ark., rallied from ninth to finish second.
Winner's sponsors: Robinson's David Peterson Motorsports Black Diamond Chassis has a Clements Racing Engine and is sponsored by Cooper's Penske Shocks, Stealth Industry, TWM Racing Products and Xtreme Graphics.
Points chase: Before Greenville, Jack Sullivan (901) of Greenbrier, Ark., leads Robert Baker (891), Hunter Rasdon (841), B.J. Robinson (822) and Robby Moore (775).
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Chandler Petty
Time: 13.517 seconds
Heat race winners: Chandler Petty, Brian Rickman, Rick Rickman
Consolation race winners: Scott Dedwylder
Next series race: June 1, Crowley's Ridge Raceway (Paragould, AR) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Petty, B. Rickman
Row 2: R. Rickman, Kellick
Row 3: Sullivan, Knight
Row 4: Stephens, Robinson
Row 5: Landers, Tollison
Row 6: Hughes, Rasdon
Row 7: Shaw, White
Row 8: Dacus, Dedwylder
Row 9: Byars, Callahan
Row 10: Moore, Payne

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728