Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/22/2023 16:49:51

Sponsor 743
May 6
Bullring at RICo Fairgrounds,
East Moline, IL
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series - $2,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 7, 5:43 pm)
Kay comes from 24th for fourth straight Deery win
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Jeremiah Hurst
  3. Joe Zrostlik
  4. Ryan Dolan
  5. Nick Marolf
  6. Todd Cooney
  7. Curt Martin
  8. Chad Holladay
  9. Sam Halstead
  10. Gary Webb
  11. Tim Simpson
  12. Eric Sanders
  13. Chad Coyne
  14. David Norton
  15. Matt Ryan
  16. Rob Toland
  17. Terry Neal
  18. Rob Moss
  19. Andy Nezworski
  20. Ryan Claeys
  21. Ray Guss Jr.
  22. Darrel DeFrance
  23. Cayden Carter
  24. Shawn Mulvany
  25. Chuck Hanna
presented by
Alan Goacher
Justin Kay earned $2,000 for his third staight Deery Brothers victory.
What won the race: Extending his series winning streak to four, including three this season, Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, stormed from the rear for a $2,000 victory Sunday at Quad City Speedway. Kay took the lead with 12 laps remaining in the caution-plagued Deery Brothers Summer Series event. Runner-up Jeremiah Hurst finished 3.834 seconds behind.
Quotable: “I was just trying to keep my nose clean and not put myself in any bad situations. I was thinking that if I could squeak out of there with a top five finish, I would have been happy. Every­thing just worked out for me," said Kay, whose fourth straight victory tied Deery Bros. win streaks by Gary Webb ('94), Rob Toland ('04) and Brian Harris ('13). "Gary Webb and Rob Toland have done this for so long. I really want to get that fifth win in a row. I know the guys in the shop are going to go over the car and do everything they can for me.”
Key notes: Kay's 27th series victory moves him into third on the all-time list (he entered the race tied with Mark Burgtorf and Curt Martin, who finished seventh). ... His streak started in September at West Liberty (Iowa) Raceway. ... Rob Toland led laps 11-34 but retired to hand the lead to Ryan Dolan. ... Outside front-row starter Cayden Carter led early but retired after nine laps. ... Terry Neal also ran among the leaders but retired on lap 31. ... Thirteen drivers completed 50 laps. ... The feature wrapped up about 9:05 p.m. ... Quad City hosted the second event of the tour's lone scheduled doubleheader weekend of the season; Kay won Saturday's race at Maquoketa Speedway. ... He also won the April 21 opener at Cedar County Raceway, his home track.
On the move: Winner Justin Kay started 24th; Joe Zrostlik of Long Grove, Iowa, started 22nd and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Kay's MasterSbilt Race Car by S&J Motorsports is sponsored by Wehrs Machine, Wheatland Auto Body, Crop Production Services, Hoker Trucking and Mycogen Seeds.
Points chase: Justin Kay extended his series points lead after three races; Ryan Dolan stands in second.
Car count: 25
Polesitter: Nick Marolf
Heat race winners: Curt Martin, Nick Marolf, Cayden Carter
Next series race: May 28, Boone Speedway (Boone, IA) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Marolf, Carter
Row 2: Martin, Ryan
Row 3: Nezworski, Guss
Row 4: Toland, Hurst
Row 5: Hanna, Neal
Row 6: Cooney, DeFrance
Row 7: Holladay, Simpson
Row 8: Halstead, Webb
Row 9: Mulvany, Moss
Row 10: Coyne, Claeys
Row 11: Dolan, Zrostlik
Row 12: Sanders, Kay
Row 13: Norton

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information