Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 14:58:27

Sponsor 743
May 5
Ogilvie Raceway,
Ogilvie, MN
Sanction: Structural Buildings WISSOTA Challenge Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 7, 8:16 am)
Mars earns Ogilvie's $3,000 WISSOTA check
  1. Jimmy Mars
  2. Jake Redetzke
  3. Jeff Wildung
  4. Pat Doar
  5. Jesse Glenz
  6. Don Shaw
  7. Darrell Nelson
  8. Rick Hanestad
  9. John Kaanta
  10. Cole Schill
  11. Steve Laursen
  12. Jeffrey Massingill
  13. Lance Matthees
  14. Marshall Fegers
  15. Terry Lillo
  16. Todd Frank
  17. Buddy Hanestad
  18. Ben Hanke
  19. Blake Swenson
  20. James Giossi
  21. Jim Carlson
  22. John Toppozini
  23. Shawn Kirwin
presented by
Jacy Norgaard/jacynorgaardphoto.smugmug.com
Jimmy Mars heads to a $3,000 victory at Ogilvie Raceway.
What won the race: Fifth-starting Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis., earned a $3,000 victory in Saturday's Wollak Construction WISSOTA Challenge Series season opener at Ogilvie Raceway. The veteran standout beat Jake Redetzke and Jeff Wildung to the finish line.
Key notes: Mars's first triumph of 2018 came in the season opener at Ogilvie Raceway. ... It was Mars's fourth career win on the WISSOTA Challenge Series. ... He won the previous night in regular-seaeson action at Red Cedar Speedway. ... At Ogilvie, Jim Carlson started from the pole position but retired early and finished 21st. ... Ricky Weiss and Shane Edginton were main event scratches. ... Shawn Kirwin was disqualified for exiting on the backstretch during green-flag conditions (driver were told to pull to the infield); he would've been scored 23rd anyway. ... Jeff Massingill scratched from heat race action.
On the move: Don Shaw of Ham Lake, Minn., advanced from 23rd spot to sixth; Jesse Glenz of Fall Creek, Wis., started 19th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Mars drove the Paul Gilberts MB Customs entry powered by a Tim's Automotive Machine engine and sponsored by CT Trucking, Deppe Enterprises, T.L. Sinz Plumbing and Keyes Chevytown.
Points chase: John Kaanta of Elk Mound, Wis., was the 2017 WISSOTA champion.
Car count: 25
Polesitter: Jim Carlson
Heat race winners: Ricky Weiss, Lance Matthees, Jeff Wildung
Next series race: May 25, I-94 Speedway (Fergus Falls, MN) $2,000
Editor's note: Corrects winner's sponsors; corrects Weiss and Edginton as scratches.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Carlson, Wildung
Row 2: Nelson, School
Row 3: Mars, Laursen
Row 4: Redetzke, Matthees
Row 5: Doar, Toppozini
Row 6: Giossi, Kaanta
Row 7: R. Hanestad, Kirwin
Row 8: Lillo, Hanke
Row 9: Frank, Fegers
Row 10: Glenz, B. Hanestad
Row 11: Swenson, Massingill
Row 12: Shaw, Weiss
Row 13: Edington

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728