Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/27/2023 09:56:56

Sponsor 743
July 4
Greenville Speedway,
Greenville, MS
Sanction: Comp Cams Super Dirt Series - $1,500
Information provided by: Ben Shelton (last updated July 5, 8:33 pm)
McCool captures Greenville's weekend opener
  1. Bub McCool
  2. Tommy Surrett
  3. Clay Fisher
  4. Duke Palasini
  5. Kyle Beard
  6. Stacy Taylor
  7. Brandon Smith
  8. Cody Kierre
  9. Dewayne Estes
  10. Greg Fore
  11. Shannon Scott
  12. Rick Hearnsberger
  13. Randy Barnard
  14. Brett White
  15. Kody Mea
  16. Brandon Poppenheimer
  17. Lynn Beach
  18. Christopher Showah
  19. Scott Abraham
  20. Ashley Newman
  21. David Payne
presented by
Tommy Best/Best Photography
Bub McCool won his first Comp Cams Super Dirt Series race.
What won the race: Bub McCool of Vicksburg, Miss., outdueled fellow front-row starter Tommy Surrett of Little Rock., Ark., for his first Comp Cams Super Dirt Series victory. Surrett led the first six laps, the frontrunners swapped the lead the next two laps, and McCool took over for good on lap nine. He lapped all but nine finishers.
Quotable: “I thought that Surrett was going to run off and hide from us all early in the feature, but my car got better as the race progressed,” said McCool, who has several career victories at Greenville. “Tonight is probably the best I’ve seen the track here at Greenville in a long time. It was really a lot of fun.”
Key notes: Because so many cars had problems in heats, the consolation race was scrapped. ... Timothy Culp broke an oil pump coming to the white flag in the fourth heat while running second to Kyle Beard. ... Saturday's event boasts a $2,000 winner's purse and guarantees at least $350 to every starter, a starting-purse boost from series director Chris Ellis to show appreciation to the drivers. ... McCool and Surrett are guaranteed fifth-row starting spots in Saturday's feature by virtue of their finishes.
On the move: Cody Kierre of Beebe, Ark., earned the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger award for his 20th-to-eighth run.
Winner's sponsors: McCool's Jay Dickens-powered Victory Circle race car is sponsored by McCool Logging, Triple B Trucking, Good Hope Timber and Schaeffer Oil.
Points chase: Entering the race, Kyle Beard of Trumann, Ark., had 1,028 points to lead Clay Fisher (992 points), Tommy Surrett (986), Brandon Smith (946) and Shannon Scott (920).
Car count: 25
Fast qualifier: Bub McCool
Time: 14.108 seconds
Polesitter: Bub McCool
Heat race winners: Bub McCool, Duke Palasini, Tommy Surrett, Kyle Beard
Next series race: July 5, Greenville Speedway (Greenville, MS) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information