Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 14:37:53

Sponsor 743
May 5
La Salle Speedway,
La Salle, IL
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Land of Lincoln 40) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 6, 10:02 am)
Vaught turns back Chad Simpson at La Salle
Land of Lincoln 40
  1. Will Vaught
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Tony Jackson Jr.
  4. Chris Simpson
  5. Billy Drake
  6. Dave Eckrich
  7. Tyler Bruening
  8. Mitch McGrath
  9. Joe Godsey
  10. Luke Goedert
  11. Jay Johnson
  12. Mike Mataragas
  13. Cole Swibold
  14. Jeff Roth
  15. Jeremy Grady
  16. Payton Looney
  17. Jeff Riddell
  18. Dennis Erb Jr.
  19. Rickey Frankel
  20. J.C. Wyman
  21. Jonathan Brauns
  22. Paul Parker
  23. Rob Toland
  24. Spencer Diercks
presented by
Jim DenHamer
Will Vaught won Saturday's Land of Lincoln 40 at La Salle Speedway.
What won the race: Leading flag-to-flag, polesitter Will Vaught turned back challenges from Chad Simpson and Chris Simpson to win the MLRA-sanctioned Land of Lincoln 40 at La Salle Speedway. Chad Simpson finished second with Tony Jackson Jr., third. Vaught earned $3,000 for his first MLRA victory since 2017's opener. Chris Simpson finished fourth after catching the wall on a mid-race restart.
Quotable: "We were very fortunate to be able to start up front for once," Vaught said. "We're out here to chase these points and with two DNFs right off the bat, it's just been a real struggle. This win might help get our momentum going a little better as we head into the Show-Me."
Key notes: Vaught has eight career MLRA victories. ... He rebounded after dropping out the previous night in Davenport, Iowa. ... Chad Simpson worked his way to second and nearly overtook Vaught after an early restart, but Simpson got sideways in turn four after contact with Vaught and fell back to fifth. ... Chad Simpson rallied past Tony Jackson Jr. and his brother Chris and back into second with about 15 laps remaining. ... Dennis Erb Jr., who was a last-minute entry after his planned Lucas Oil Series start at Florence Speedway in Union, Ky., was rained out, retired while running third mid-race.
Winner's sponsors: Vaught's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Johnson's Service Station, Wright Asphalt Products, Keyser Manufacturing, Integra Racing Shocks and GW Performance.
Points chase: Chad Simpson leads the MLRA points chase.
Car count: 24
Polesitter: Will Vaught
Heat race winners: Will Vaught, Chris Simpson, Mitch McGrath
Next series race: May 24, Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, MO) $6,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728