Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/20/2020 14:47:29

Sponsor 743
May 5
Montpelier Motor Speedway,
Montpelier, IN
Sanction: American Ethanol Late Model Tour (DIRTcar) (American Ethanol 40) - $4,000
Information provided by: Dustin Jarrett and series reports (last updated May 6, 7:56 am)
Schlenk tops Spangler in Ethanol opener
American Ethanol 40
  1. Rusty Schlenk
  2. Eric Spangler
  3. Duane Chamberlain
  4. Steve Casebolt
  5. Dona Marcoullier
  6. Doug Drown
  7. Nick Kurtz
  8. Brandon Thirlby
  9. David Mielke
  10. Travis Stemler
  11. Ryan VanderVeen
  12. Brad Wade
  13. J.R. Hotovy
  14. Matt Shipley
  15. Greg Gokey
  16. Jason Playter Jr.
  17. Rich Neiser
  18. Rich Bell
  19. Chad White
  20. Matt Irey
  21. Logan Arntz
  22. Hillard Miller
presented by
Dustin Jarrett
Rusty Schlenk holds the $4,000 check he received for winning at Montpelier Motor Speedway.
What won the race: Ninth-starting Rusty Schlenk of McClure, Ohio, battled past Eric Spangler and led the final 14 circuits for a $4,000 payday in Saturday's 40-lap American Ethanol Late Model Series season opener at Montpelier Motor Speedway. Schlenk beat Spangler to the finish line by 0.699 of a second.
Quotable: "It was awesome. Racing top to bottom," Schlenk said praising the track. "Nothing better than a dirt race when you gotta give a slide job to win the thing."
Key notes: Schlenk’s five career Ethanol victories are second on the all-time list. ... Travis Stemler led the first five laps before fellow Michigander Eric Spangler took command. ... Richmond, Ind., drivers Duane Chamberlain and Steve Casebolt finished third and fourth. ... Montpelier hosted Super Late Models for the first time in 17 seasons.
On the move: Winner Rusty Schlenk started ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Schlenk’s C.J. Rayburn Race Car is powered by an ECR Engine and sponsored by Buckeye Concrete Coatings, Dominator Race Products, Allstar Performance and Velocita.
Points chase: It was the tour’s season opener; Dona Marcoullier of Houghton Lake, Mich., is the reigning champion.
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Rusty Schlenk
Time: 13.579 seconds
Polesitter: Travis Stemler
Heat race winners: Rich Bell, Brandon Thirlby, Steve Casebolt
Consolation race winners: Matt Shipley, Hillard Miller
Next series race: July 5, Merritt Speedway (Lake City, MI) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Stemler, Spangler
Row 2: Thirlby, Bell
Row 3: Drown, Chamberlain
Row 4: Meilke,Casebolt
Row 5: Schlenk, Arntz
Row 6: Hotovy, Kurtz
Row 7: Marcoullier, Neiser
Row 8: Wade, Shipley
Row 9: Miller, Irey
Row 10: White, Gokey
Row 11: Vanderveen, Plater Jr.

Sponsor 896
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728