Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 13:47:51

Sponsor 743
May 5
Laurens County Speedway,
Laurens, SC
Sanction: Ultimate Southeast Series (Ronnie Brookshire Memorial) - $4,014
Information provided by: Gene Murphy and series reports (last updated May 7, 2:09 pm)
Flag-to-flag Mitchell gets Ultimate Southeast win
Ronnie Brookshire Memorial
  1. Zack Mitchell
  2. Kyle Hardy
  3. Jeff Smith
  4. Joey Coulter
  5. G.R. Smith
  6. Anthony Sanders
  7. Kenny Collins
  8. John Henderson
  9. Kyle Pierce
  10. Dennis Franklin
  11. Tyler Millwood
  12. Larry Grube
  13. Donald Bradsher
  14. Justin Duty
  15. Frank Coates
  16. Doug Sanders
  17. Brett Hamm
  18. Mike Kernells
  19. Dustin Sloan
  20. Tony Quarles
presented by
Joey Grubb/JY's Photos
Zack Mitchell picks up his Brookshire Memorial check.
What won the race: Leading all 40 laps, outside front-row starter Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., scored his first career Ultimate Southeast Series victory in Laurens County Speedway's Ronnie Brookshire Memorial. He earned $4,014.
Quotable: “I probably know 75 percent of the people sitting up there tonight,” Mitchell said. "My grandparents are here, too, and they don’t get to attend too many of my races. This means a lot to me.”
Key notes: Tour rookie Kyle Hardy of Stephens City, Va., registered a runner-up finish, a career-best run on the series. ... Ultimate Southeast points leader and defending champion Tyler Millwood of Kingston, Ga., broke a rearend on the final circuit while running sixth, dropping him to 11th in the final rundown, the last driver on the lead lap. ... The Ultimate Southeast Series has had five winners in as many events this season. … The series made its third-ever visit to Laurens County and lone stop on the 2018 season.
On the move: Joey Coulter of Troutman, N.C., advanced from the 11th starting spot to finish fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Mitchell’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Eubanks Oil, Clary Hood Inc., Millwood Plumbing, Hi-Bridge Automotive, Charles West Grading, Mechanical Edge, FK Rod Ends and Big A's Custom Graphics.
Points chase: Tyler Millwood (142) maintained a slight lead, leaving Laurens County ahead of Hardy (138), Zack Mitchell (127), Coulter (122) and Jeff Smith (101).
Car count: 20
Fast qualifier: Zack Mitchell
Time: 14.328 seconds
Polesitter: John Henderson
Next series race: May 18, Carolina Speedway (Gastonia, NC) $4,000
Editor's note: Corrects hard charger and winner's sponsors.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Henderson, Mitchell
Row 2: Hardy, J. Smith
Row 3: Millwood, Hamm
Row 4: Bradsher, G.R. Smith
Row 5: Duty, A. Sanders
Row 6: Coulter, Collins
Row 7: Quarles, Franklin
Row 8: Coates, D. Sanders
Row 9: Grube, Pierce
Row 10: Kernells, Sloan

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728