Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/30/2022 05:38:59

Sponsor 743
July 4
Salina Highbanks Speedway,
Salina, OK
Sanction: MARS DIRTcar Series West (Freedom Classic) - $3,000
Information provided by: Ron Mitchell, Kyle Bean and series reports (last updated July 5, 10:56 am)
Red-hot Phillips wins Salina's weekend opener
Freedom Classic
  1. Terry Phillips
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Tony Jackson Jr.
  4. Jeremy Payne
  5. Jack Sullivan
  6. Ryan Gustin
  7. Justin Asplin
  8. Brantlee Gotschall
  9. Tommy Weder Jr.
  10. Dave Eckrich
  11. Jason Hughes
  12. Brandon McCormick
  13. Scott Lewis
  14. Brandon Morton
  15. Mark Dotson
  16. Travis Dickes
  17. Leroy Johnson
  18. Brad Looney
  19. Jeff Roth
  20. Bill Koons
  21. Randy Roth
  22. Jon Driskill
  23. Brett Hansen
  24. Wendell Wallace
presented by
Lloyd Collins/fasttrackphotos.net
Terry Phillips takes the checkers in Salina, Okla.
What won the race: Jumping into the lead on the first lap from his third starting spot, double-series dominating Terry Phillips led all 30 laps of the MARS-MLRA event at the high-speed oval. The winningest driver on both tours stretched a recent hot streak with his fourth Late Model victory in his last seven starts (a stretch that includes two runner-up finishes). He survived a mid-race bobble that nearly cost him the lead when he got too high entering turn three, nearly collecting runner-up Chad Simpson.
Quotable: "I went in there a little too hard and about went off the end," Phillips said. "I finally figured this corner (turns three and four) out. I finally settled down a little bit and got comfortable with the line I was running."
Key notes: Phillips won the previous night in MARS action at Monett, Mo. ... A single caution slowed the action on the 10th lap for Travis Dickes. ... Third-place Tony Jackson Jr. briefly went ahead of Phillips on the second lap, but a crossover move exiting turn four put Phillips back ahead at the line. ... Polesitter Justin Asplin ended up seventh. ... Josh Hughes lost a transfer spot to Wendell Wallace on the last lap of the first consy. ... Jesse Stovall blew a motor with two laps remaining while leading fourth heat from the pole; fifth-starting Tony Jackson Jr. went on to win over tail-starting Terry Phillips; Stovall loaded up. ... Bobby Maggard Jr. rolled his car in turn two in the third heat, ending up on his lid; he was OK, but less than a month ago, Maggard was injured injured when his race car fell on him while he was climbing from underneath it. ... The two-race Freedom Classic is co-sanctioned by the MARS DIRTcar Series and the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association.
On the move: Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, came from 15th to sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Phillips drives a Hatfield-powered Rocket Chassis sponsored by Andy's Frozen Custard, Champion Brands, Don Babb Motorsports, Integra Shocks, Keyser Mfg., Mesilla Valley Transportation and New Vision Graphics.
Points chase: Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., leads MARS standings while Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, leads the MLRA chase.
Car count: 31
Polesitter: Justin Asplin
Heat race winners: Jeremy Payne, Chad Simpson, Justin Asplin, Tony Jackson Jr.
Consolation race winners: Brad Looney, Brandon Morton
Next series race: July 5, Salina Highbanks Speedway (Salina, OK) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728