Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/24/2022 21:06:19

Sponsor 743
May 4
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $3,000
Information provided by: Jeremiah Davis of The Inside Track; series reports (last updated May 5, 1:27 pm)
Chad Simpson dominates for Davenport win
  1. Chad Simpson
  2. J.C. Wyman
  3. Mitch McGrath
  4. Chris Simpson
  5. Payton Looney
  6. Tony Jackson Jr.
  7. Justin Kay
  8. Jonathan Brauns
  9. Tyler Bruening
  10. Dave Eckrich
  11. Rob Toland
  12. Allen Murray
  13. Jordan Yaggy
  14. Joe Godsey
  15. Rickey Frankel
  16. Jay Johnson
  17. Jeff Riddell
  18. Spencer Diercks
  19. Paul Parker
  20. Will Vaught
  21. Jeremy Grady
  22. Billy Drake
  23. Jeff Roth
  24. Matt Ryan
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Chad Simpson rolled to victory on Davenport's quarter-mile oval.
What won the race: Series points leader Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, led all but three laps Friday on Davenport Speedway's quarter-mile oval for a $3,000 Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association victory. Third-starting J.C. Wyman led from the outset, but Simpson took command on an early restart as Wyman settled for second. Series rookie Mitch McGrath was third after improving four positions.
Quotable: "I knew I was going to be in trouble right away," winner Chad Simpson said. "We put new tires on for the start of the race and I knew they wouldn't fire right away, so I was a bit nervous. Then as good as J.C. was on the start I was really nervous. Once I finally got the top rolling in one and two everything felt really good and I just had to get to the bottom of three and four where the traction was."
Key notes: Chad Simpson, the 2014 series champ, scored his ninth career MLRA victory. ... He had his sixth top-five run in seven starts. ... Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., ran third early but retired before halfway. ... Two early cautions slowed the action, the first for a three-car tangle in turn four. ... The fifth MLRA visit in series history at Davenport marked the tour’s second stop the Mississippi Valley Fairgrounds facility in two weeks.
On the move: Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, the winner's brother, started 13th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson's Black Diamond Chassis has a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and is sponsored by Liebe Trucking, GATR Truck Center, Diercks Ltd., Simpson Farms, Graves Oil, Allstar Performance, Wehrs Machine, Dyer's Top Rods, Performance Bodies, Master Built Concrete, Cen-Pe-Co and Phase2Sign Supply.
Points chase: Chad Simpson extended his series points lead.
Car count: 28
Polesitter: Chad Simpson
Heat race winners: Chad Simpson, Payton Looney, Tony Jackson Jr.
Next series race: May 5, La Salle Speedway (LaSalle, IL) $3,000
Editor's note: Corrects lap leaders.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Cha. Simpson, Jackson Jr.
Row 2: Wyman, Looney
Row 3: Vaught, Bruening
Row 4: McGrath, Brauns
Row 5: Kay, Godsey
Row 6: Toland, Eckrich
Row 7: Chr. Simpson, Frankel
Row 8: Diercks, Drake
Row 9: Roth, Yaggy
Row 10: Ryan, Parker
Row 11: Riddell, Grady
Row 12: Murray, Johnson

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728