Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1119
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 08/14/2020 14:52:55

Sponsor 743
April 28
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Southern All Star Series - $4,000
Information provided by: Series, contributor and team reports (last updated May 2, 8:47 am)
Horton tops Johnson for first SAS victory
  1. Austin Horton
  2. Ronnie Johnson
  3. Michael Page
  4. Jason Hiett
  5. Cory Hedgecock
  6. Riley Hickman
  7. Jadon Frame
  8. Terry Smith
  9. Grant Pearl
  10. Donald McIntosh
  11. Jay Scott
  12. Josh Putnam
  13. Kenny Collins
  14. Ray McElhiney
  15. Mark Dodson
  16. J.T. Seawright
  17. Dallas Cooper
  18. Eric Granger
  19. Tim Roszell
  20. Dalton Polston
  21. Tim Busha
  22. T.J. Reaid
  23. Eric Hickerson
  24. Larry Harrod
  25. Josh Adkins
presented by
Mike Blevins
Austin Horton stands atop his car after his first Southern All Stars win.
What won the race: Polesitter Austin Horton of Newnan, Ga., raced to his first career Southern All Stars victory, topping Hall of Famer Ronnie Johnson by 1.449 seconds Saturday at Talladega Short Track. Horton, the 2017 series champion, earned $4,000.
Quotable: “This was just an incredible weekend for myself and my team,” winner Austin Horton said. “We had a great car on Friday night, and then on Saturday night we were on a rail again, and I knew if I hit my marks that would be tough to beat. Lapped traffic got kind of crazy there, but it all worked out.”
Key notes: The win was Horton's third Super Late Model victory of the season and fourth overall in '18. … While it was Horton’s first series victory, it was also the 22-year-old’s first SAS pole as well. … Series points leader Jay Scott finished 10th. … Sixteen cars completed the race, with 13 completing all 40 laps. … Horton, who picked up his 2017 Southern All Stars Series championship hardware while at TST this weekend, also won Friday's $2,000 unsanctioned Super Late Model feature at TST. ... Johnson won the NeSmith Dirt Late Model Series feature on the undercard. … The annual NASCAR weekend event was the first of three visits the tour makes to TST. The series returns Aug. 11.
On the move: Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., won 36 Racing and Fabrication Hard Charger honors.
Winner's sponsors: Horton’s Wood Motorsports Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Super K Express, Orr’s Towing, Vapes Gone Wild, GW Performance, Gary’s Pulp & Logging, Allstar Grapix and McCoon’s.
Points chase: Jay Scott of Fayetteville, Tenn. (236) leads Mark Dodson (212), Ray McElhiney (200), Brad Skinner (174) and Tristan Sealy (154).
Car count: 40
Fast qualifier: Austin Horton
Polesitter: Austin Horton
Next series race: May 19, Senoia Raceway (Senoia, GA) $4,000
Editor's note: Corrects Jason Hiett as fourth-place finisher, adjusting finishers throughout.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728