Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/22/2023 17:13:16

Sponsor 743
April 28
Talladega Short Track,
Eastaboga, AL
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA - $2,500
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated April 29, 6:29 pm)
Johnson cruises to NeSmith victory at TST
  1. Ronnie Johnson
  2. Andy Picklesimer
  3. Michael Page
  4. Riley Hickman
  5. Heath Hindman
  6. Cory Hedgecock
  7. Sam Seawright
  8. Rodgerick Dykes
  9. Terrance Nowell
  10. Chase Walls
  11. Ashton Winger
  12. Jimmy Elliott
  13. Jake Knowles
  14. Cruz Skinner
  15. Jamey Boland
  16. Tyler Wood
  17. Chase Edge
  18. Bryant Marsh
  19. Clay Harris
  20. Oakley Johns
  21. T.J. Brittain
  22. Marcus Minga
  23. Brad Berry
  24. Jadon Frame
presented by
Mike Blevins
Ronnie Johnson won Saturday's $2,500 NeSmith special at TST.
What won the race: Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., cruised to a comfortable victory over Andy Picklesimer, winning Saturday's NeSmith-sanctioned 50-lapper by .647 seconds at Talladega Short Track. Picklesimer chased Johnson the distance before settling for second ahead of Michael Page. Johnson earned $2,500.
Key notes: It was Johnson’s series-leading 28th career win. He also won TST’s NeSmith RockAuto.com Winter Shootout in January. … Johnson elected to start on the outside front row, took the lead at the start and paced all 50 laps, managing to stay out of lapped traffic over the final 10 laps. … The race was slowed by three cautions. … Marcus Minga slowed in turn four on lap 13; caution waved again on the restart; T.J. Brittain slowed in turn two on lap 29. ... All but two of the 24 starters finished the race. … Jadon Frame was the first to retire after making just two laps. … Brad Berry completed 32 circuits before stopping. … The race wrapped up TST’s NASCAR weekend doubleheader for the NeSmith series. … Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, Tenn., was Friday's winner. ... The series returns to Talladega on July 3 and again on Oct. 12-13.
On the move: Heath Hindman of Eastaboga, Ala., started 10th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Johnson's Capital Race Car is sponsored by Josh Roberts Trucking and Stacy Whitfield Tile Inc.
Points chase: After Talladega, Cory Hedgecock (376) of Loudon, Tenn., leads Ashton Winger (342), Jake Knowles (318), Andy Picklesimer (302) and Bryant March (290).
Car count: 45
Fast qualifier: Ronnie Johnson
Time: 14.928 seconds
Polesitter: Ronnie Johnson
Consolation race winners: Jake Knowles, Rodgerick Dykes, Ashton Winger, Terrance Nowell
Provisional starters: Marcus Minga, T.J. Brittain
Next series race: May 18, Oglethorpe Speedway Park (Savannah, GA) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information