Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 01:53:30

Sponsor 743
April 27
Thunderbird Speedway,
Muskogee, OK
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and other reports (last updated April 28, 1:27 pm)
Stovall tops Simpson for Muskogee triumph
  1. Jesse Stovall
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Payton Looney
  4. Tony Jackson Jr.
  5. Will Vaught
  6. Justin Zeitner
  7. Mason Oberkramer
  8. Randy Timms
  9. Mitch McGrath
  10. Raymond Merrill
  11. Mark Harrison
  12. Austin Siebert
  13. Jeff Hull
  14. Jacob Magee
  15. Jeff Hull
  16. Cole Wells
  17. Joe Godsey
  18. Sloppy Hogg
  19. Shannon Scott
  20. Jeff Roth
  21. Jeremy Grady
presented by
Lloyd Collins/fasttrackphotos.net
MLRA winner Jesse Stovall celebrates atop his car.
What won the race: Third-starting Jesse Stovall of Billings, Mo., overtook Chad Simpson for the lead on lap 10 and marched on to claim a 30-lap MLRA victory at Thunderbird Speedway on Friday. Adter surviving a scrape with the lapped J.C. Wyman with four laps remaining, Stovall finished 1.083 seconds ahead of the polesitting Simpson to earn $3,000 while Payton Looney placed third.
Quotable: "I kept screwing up on the restart and my carburetor won't run right, so I had to do some fancy footwork with my brakes and my gas pedal to get that thing running around the top pretty good," Stovall said. "When I saw (Chad Simpson) go in the middle of the racetrack I was licking my lips, and it all just worked out. It was a good night for us."
Key notes: Stovall has 22 career MLRA victories; his previous came in the 2017 finale at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo. ... Runner-up Simpson and his Brinkman Motorsports team had a front steer tire on their hauler blow out just miles from their shop on Thursday, causing significant damage to the rig. They borrowed a hauler from friends to make the trip. ... Friday's action kicked off a weekend doubleheader that also includes Saturday’s stop at Legit Speedway Park in West Plains, Mo. … Thunderbird Speedway hosted the first-ever MLRA race, held April 21, 1989, and won by Missouri’s Larry Phillips. … Thunderbird Speedway reopened June 9, 2017 when it hosted a MARS West race after sitting idle for a couple of seasons.
On the move: Justin Zeitner finished sixth after starting 13th to grab the C&L RV Center Hard Charger honors.
Winner's sponsors: Stovall’s Black Diamond Chassis is sponsored by driveWFX.com, Malvern Bank, Midwest Sheet Metal, Swafford’s Service, MTS and Rushin Towing.
Points chase: Chad Simpson moved into the MLRA points lead with his fourth top-five finish in five events.
Car count: 21
Polesitter: Chad Simpson
Heat race winners: Chad Simpson, Cole Wells, Jesse Stovall
Next series race: April 28, Legit Speedway Park (West Plains, MO) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Simpson, Wells
Row 2: Stovall, Looney
Row 3: Timms, Vaught
Row 4: Jackson Jr., Wyman
Row 5: Harrison, Oberkramer
Row 6: Siebert, Scott
Row 7: Zeitner, Merrill
Row 8: McGrath, Godsey
Row 9: Magee, Roth
Row 10: Grady, Hogg
Row 11: Hull

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information