Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 11/29/2023 21:31:44

Sponsor 743
April 21
Cedar County Raceway,
Tipton, IA
Sanction: IMCA Deery Brothers Summer Series - $2,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 22, 2:52 pm)
Kay strikes in hard-fought victory at Cedar County
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Matt Ryan
  3. Ryan Dolan
  4. Todd Cooney
  5. Andy Eckrich
  6. Chad Holladay
  7. Nick Marolf
  8. Jeremiah Hurst
  9. Andy Nezworski
  10. Jeff Tharp
  11. Joe Zrostlik
  12. Luke Merfeld
  13. Chuck Hanna
  14. Rob Moss
  15. Tim Simpson
  16. Sam Halstead
  17. Darrel DeFrance
  18. Chad Coyne
  19. Terry Neal
  20. Joel Callahan
  21. Curt Martin
  22. Denny Eckrich
  23. Kyle Hinrichs
  24. Curt Schroeder
presented by
What won the race: Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, overtook polesitter Ryan Dolan with five laps remaining to win the Deery Brothers Summer Series opener at Cedar County Raceway. Kay pocketed $2,000 for his 25th career series victory while the ninth-starting Matt Ryan finished second with Dolan third in the 50-lapper.
Key notes: Kay has won four consecutive series events at Cedar County going back to 2014. ... Terry Neal was running second when he coasted to the infield mid-race. ... Of the top nine starters, only four finished in the top 10. ... Curt Schroeder was the only driver to retire. ... Cedar County hosted the tour opener for the first time. ... Davenport officials promoted Tipton's event. ... The series debuted a new passing-points format which replaces the draw-redraw format previously used for heat races.
On the move: Todd Cooney of Des Moines, Iowa, started 12th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Kay's MasterSbilt Race Car from Gheer'd Up Race Cars is sponsored by Wehrs Machine, Wheatland Auto Body, Crop Production Services, Hoker Trucking and Mycogen Seeds
Points chase: The race marked the 32nd season opener in tour history.
Car count: 29
Polesitter: Ryan Dolan
Heat race winners: Joe Zrostlik, Denny Eckrich, Ryan Dolan, Justin Kay
Consolation race winners: Chad Holladay, A.J. Campbell
Provisional starters: Luke Merfeld, Curt Schroeder
Next series race: May 5, Maquoketa Speedway (Maquoketa, IA) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information