Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/20/2024 22:29:22

Sponsor 743
April 20
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 21, 2:13 pm)
Chris Simpson wires MLRA field at Davenport
  1. Chris Simpson
  2. Brian Shirley
  3. Tyler Bruening
  4. Tony Jackson Jr.
  5. Payton Looney
  6. Jason Feger
  7. Jordan Yaggy
  8. Rich Bell
  9. J.C. Wyman
  10. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  11. Mitch McGrath
  12. Raymond Merrill
  13. Joel Callahan
  14. Jeff Roth
  15. Mason Oberkramer
  16. Chad Simpson
  17. Cole Wells
  18. Tad Pospisil
  19. Will Vaught
  20. Dave Eckrich
  21. Jonathan Brauns
  22. Rob Toland
  23. Joe Godsey
  24. Jesse Stovall
presented by
Mike Ruefer
Chris Simpson on his way to a $5,000 MLRA victory at Davenport Speedway.
What won the race: Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, scored a home-state victory Friday night, leading from flag-to-flag to capture the 30-lap Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Association feature at Davenport Speedway. The polesitting Simpson beat Brian Shirley to the finish line for a $5,000 payday.
Quotable: "That track was tricky tonight, but we had a pretty maneuverable car to where we could move around on the track," the winner said. "I hit the corners and the rough spots wrong more than I hit them right, but somehow I was able to hold on."
Key notes: The victory was Simpson's second in MLRA competition this season and 13th of his career. He also captured MLRA's March 31 Thaw Brawl at La Salle (Ill.) Speedway.. ... Simpson started on the pole after winning his with a last-lap pass of Rob Toland, but the second-starting Shirley outgunned him for the lead at the initial green flag. An immediate caution for Jesse Stovall negated the start, however, and, after another caution, the third try belong to Simpson and he led the entire remaining distance. ... Shirley's hopes of making a bid to overtake Simpson in traffic were dashed by caution flags that kept Simpson in clean air. ... Third-place Tyler Bruening recorded a career-best MLRA finish. ... Simpson's older brother, Chad, made hard contact with the outside wall while running in the runner-up position. ... Series action continues Saturday night with the $10,555-to-win Slocum 50 at 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa.
On the move: Payton Looney of Republic, Mo., charged from 18th to finish fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Cheap Cars, Hoker Trucking, Superior Cleaning, Floyd’s Waste Systems, Crop Production Services, Chase Decals, Randy Davidson Trucking, Five Star Shop Service, IITI, Advanced Machine & Tool, Simpson Farms and Bill Bryant Trucking.
Points chase: Brian Shirley moved into the MLRA points lead through three events with his runner-up finish.
Car count: 35
Heat race winners: Rickey Frankel, Chris Simpson, Frank Heckenast Jr., Tony Jackson Jr.
Consolation race winners: Jordan Yaggy
Next series race: April 21, 34 Raceway (West Burlington, IA) $10,555
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Chris Simpson, Shirley
Row 2: Jackson, Frankel
Row 3: Heckenast, Chad Simpson
Row 4: Stovall, Pospisil
Row 5: Brauns, McGrath
Row 6: Vaught, Bruening
Row 7: Toland, Callahan
Row 8: Eckrich, Roth
Row 9: Yaggy, Looney
Row 10: Feger, Merrill
Row 11: Bell, Wyman
Row 12: Godsey, Wells
Row 13: Oberkramer

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information