Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1259
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/14/2024 20:54:18

Sponsor 743
March 31
Senoia Raceway,
Senoia, GA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals - $10,000
Information provided by: Richard Allen of InsideDirtRacing.com and series reports (last updated April 1, 8:36 am)
Holding off Bloomquist, McDowell rules Senoia
  1. Dale McDowell
  2. Scott Bloomquist
  3. Aaron Ridley
  4. Clint Smith
  5. Zach Leonhardi
  6. Eric Wells
  7. Kyle Hardy
  8. Austin Smith
  9. Riley Hickman
  10. Shane Clanton
  11. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  12. Joseph Joiner
  13. Shanon Buckingham
  14. Mason Massey
  15. Cody King
  16. Jason Croft
  17. Ryan King
  18. Brandon Kinzer
  19. John Ownbey
  20. Casey Roberts
  21. David Payne
  22. Dalton Cook
  23. Michael Page
  24. Payton Freeman
  25. Austin Horton
presented by
Brian McLeod
Dale McDowell waves to the crowd at Senoia following Saturday's $10,000 victory.
What won the race: Winning a duel with his chassis builder, Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., led all 60 laps Saturday at Senoia Raceway for a $10,000 victory in the finale of the season-opening Schaeffer's Spring Nationals weekend. McDowell fended off challenges from Friday winner Scott Bloomquist, who finished 0.474 seconds behind in second.
Key notes: Runner-up Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., was the only non-Georgian among the top five. ... Fifteen drivers completed 60 laps. ... In Friday's opener, Bloomquist overtook hometown driver Clint Smith with two laps remaining.
On the move: Scott Bloomquist started ninth and finished second.
Winner's sponsors: McDowell’s Sweet-Bloomquist Race Car is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Textron Off Road, New Era Industrial, Boyd’s Speedway, Will Kinzer Foundation, Cometic Gasket and Klotz Lubricants.
Points chase: Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga., is the reigning Spring Nationals champion.
Car count: 33
Fast qualifier: Clint Smith
Time: 16.382 seconds
Polesitter: Clint Smith
Heat race winners: Clint Smith, Austin Smith, Dale McDowell, Zach Leonhardi
Consolation race winners: Dalton Cook, Austin Horton
Provisional starters: Shane Clanton, Casey Roberts, Ryan King, David Payne, Brandon Kinzer
Next series race: April 6, Crossville Speedway (Crossville, TN) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
From staff and contributor reports

SENOIA, Ga. — Scott Bloomquist’s attempt to win at Senoia Raceway from the ninth starting spot for the second straight night fell a bit short.

And the lone car the Mooresburg, Tenn., driver couldn’t overtake in the weekend finale on the Schaeffer's Spring Nationals tour was a familiar one as outside front-row starter Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, Ga., denied Bloomquist for a flag-to-flag, 60-lap victory worth $10,000.

McDowell, whose Shane McDowell Racing-prepared Sweet-Bloomquist car is housed on Bloomquist’s property in east Tennessee, repelled Bloomquist’s first-half charge, then held on the final 32 laps when passing was at a premium on the usually racy 3/8-mile oval.

While thanking everyone “that makes this thing go around and makes my job easy,” McDowell knew his job was a bit easier late in the race. “The racetrack kind of locked down there at the last. I felt pretty good early up top, which is really not my forte, but we was making it work. Hat’s off to Scott, it’s his design stuff, he and Cody (Mallory) and Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars.”

Bloomquist was all over McDowell late, but Friday’s $3,000 winner — he overtook hometown driver Clint Smith with two laps remaining — settled for a runner-up finish, 0.474 seconds behind the winner. Aaron Ridley of Chatsworth, Ga., who briefly pulled ahead of Bloomquist before halfway, ended up third while fellow Georgians Smith and Zach Leonhardi rounded out the top five finishers.

McDowell couldn’t have been too disappointed that Bloomquist’s ability to pass was difficult late in the race, but the driver that helps prepare the surface at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, Ga., sympathized with Senoia’s track crew.

“To keep (a track surface) slick, you always are flirting with the risk of it getting one-landed,” McDowell said. “Last night’s racing was awesome, tonight it was there for a little bit and just kind of went the other direction.

“I’m sure they’ll make some adjustments and come back and have it a little bit wetter earlier. I do a little bit of track prep stuff, too, so it is tough and you do get criticized for different things that you do. They did what they could do to put on a good show for the race fans.”

Bloomquist, who roared from his fifth-row starting spot and into contention in the early laps, did all he could with the track surface.

“The racetrack got streaked up in the bottom and it was really hard … I was thinking about trying the outside of (McDowell), and I just creeped out a little bit and I wasn’t confident enough that it was going to stick,” Bloomquist said. “If you missed it a little bit you were probably going to go up probably another three or four lanes up higher than you wanted to.

“Dale, he had a good starting spot, you know? That was the key. We started ninth again tonight and we got up there tonight pretty quick. And then, I should’ve — I did hit that bottom and gained a lot on Dale there, and I didn’t realize it was starting to latch up that good.  Then when I got passed (by Ridley), I said I better get down. We got that position back and ran Dale down, but still, you weren’t going to pass out there at the end. But congratulations to him, I’m glad to see him run good, and those Sweet-Bloomquist cars are doing well.

“I was hoping for a little more for a track (surface) like last night … anyway, a good weekend. We’ll take it and go home and hit the next one.”

Notes: Bloomquist’s most serious challenge of McDowell came on the 14th lap amid traffic. … A lap-28 caution appeared for debris on the track as a track worker picked up several tools on the track. … It was a two-car duel over the final 20 laps. … McDowell's victory moved him atop the alltime Spring Nationals list with seven victories (he was previously tied with Mike Marlar at six). … Dennis Hale won the track’s Limited Late Model feature while Crate victories went to Austin Horton (604s) and Levi Campbell (602s). (Additional information from Richard Allen of InsideDirtRacing.com.)

Feature lineup

Row 1: C. Smith, McDowell
Row 2: A. Smith, Leonhardi
Row 3: Ridley, Hickman
Row 4: C. King, Lloyd
Row 5: Bloomquist, Joiner
Row 6: Wells, Hardy
Row 7: Page, Massey
Row 8: Ownbey, Buckingham
Row 9: Cook, Horton
Row 10: Croft, Freeman
Row 11: Clanton, Roberts
Row 12: King, Payne
Row 13; Kinzer

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information