Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 09/27/2022 06:42:38

Sponsor 743
March 30
Senoia Raceway,
Senoia, GA
Sanction: Schaeffer's Spring Nationals - $3,000
Information provided by: Dustin Jarrett, Richard Allen and series reports (last updated March 31, 6:27 pm)
Bloomquist edges Smith in Senoia's Friday thriller
  1. Scott Bloomquist
  2. Clint Smith
  3. Shane Clanton
  4. Michael Page
  5. Zach Leonhardi
  6. Eric Wells
  7. Donald McIntosh
  8. Austin Horton
  9. Casey Roberts
  10. Dalton Cook
  11. Aaron Ridley
  12. Jason Croft
  13. Ryan King
  14. Cody King
  15. John Henderson
  16. David Payne
  17. Mason Massey
  18. Timothy Culp
  19. Brandon Kinzer
  20. Austin Smith
  21. Shanon Buckingham
  22. Kyle Hardy
presented by
Blake Harris
Scott Bloomquist (0) overtook Clint Smith (44) to lead the final two laps.
What won the race: Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., overtook Clint Smith on lap 38 and led the final two laps for a thrilling victory in the Schaeffer's Spring Nationals weekend opener at Senoia Raceway. Bloomquist crossed the finish line 0.254 seconds ahead of Smith.
Quotable: “This racetrack’s pretty awesome. I can’t say enough for it,” Bloomquist said of the Senoia oval. “We’ve just been down here one time and had a new car and just missed everything … we just weren’t quite prepared. This is one slick, slick racetrack, so I wish it was in my backyard.”
Key notes: Smith, whose shop is just minutes from the track, took the lead on lap 27 from race-long pacesetter Michael Page of Douglasville, Ga., before losing the top spot to Bloomquist with just two laps remaining. ... Page was leading on lap 17 when he was collected by a spinning lapped car, but because he had nowhere to go series officials placed him back in the lead for the restart. Sporting right-rear body damage, he slipped to a fourth-place finish. ... Third-place finisher Shane Clanton ran the late stages with a flat left-front tire. ... At the feature's initial green flag, Bloomquist got sideways and several cars piled up, including Shanon Buckingham, who got upside down but was uninjured. ... Riley Hickman drove the Florida-based Big Frog Motorsports No. 58 car, which was originally set to be piloted by Ivedent Lloyd Jr., who had mechanical difficulties on his way to the track. ... Jason Croft damaged the right-front of his car when he hit the wall in time trials. ... Ryan King and Dalton Cook didn't make weight after qualifying. ... Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., won the Limited Late Model feature. ... Page won the Crate Late Model main event.
On the move: Bloomquist advanced from the ninth starting spot to win.
Winner's sponsors: Bloomquist’s Sweet-Bloomquist Race Car is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Reece Monuments, New Direction, Valvoline, Allstar Performance, Sorbera Chiropractic, Horton Coal, Hawkeye Trucking, CrossFit Overton, CatSpot Litter, Penske Shocks, Go Lithium, Petroff Towing and Sweet Manufacturing.
Points chase: Brandon Overton of Evans, Ga., is the defending Spring Nationals champion.
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Michael Page
Time: 15.214 seconds
Polesitter: Michael Page
Heat race winners: Donald McIntosh, Shane Clanton, Aaron Ridley, Cody King
Next series race: March 31, Senoia Raceway (Senoia, GA) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Page, Leonhardi
Row 2: C. Smith, Horton
Row 3: McIntosh, Ridley
Row 4: Clanton, King
Row 5: Bloomquist, Massey
Row 6: Buckingham, Wells
Row 7: Hardy, Payne
Row 8: Roberts, Henderson
Row 9: A. Smith, Kinzer
Row 10: Cook, Culp
Row 11: Croft

Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728