Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/01/2021 23:19:13

Sponsor 743
March 17
Lancaster Speedway,
Lancaster, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series - $5,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated March 18, 12:25 pm)
Davenport dominant in Carolina Clash opener
  1. Jonathan Davenport
  2. Michael Brown
  3. Donald Bradsher
  4. Adam Yarbrough
  5. David Yandle
  6. Larry Grube
  7. Ross Bailes
  8. Mike Huey
  9. David Todd
  10. Ben Watkins
  11. Josh Langley
  12. Johnny Pursley
  13. Doug Sanders
  14. Dennis Franklin
presented by
What won the race: Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., jumped to the lead from the outside pole on the first circuit and cruised to a convincing $5,000 victory in Saturday's 40-lap Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series season opener at Lancaster Speedway. He overtook polesitter Michael Brown of Pageland, S.C., to assume command and never looked back en route to defeating Brown by 1.999 seconds.
Quotable: "Thanks for Lancaster Speedway and Carolina Clash for having this race so we could come and dial on this car a little bit," Davenport said in victory lane. "It's another new car we hadn't gotten to run but one time, and we wanted to come and make sure all the bugs were worked out of it."
Key notes: Davenport dominated the action; he was working on lapping the fifth-place car when the caution flag flew with six laps remaining. ... It was Davenport's fifth overall triumph of the young 2018 season and his eighth career Clash victory. He won on the Clash circuit for the first time since April 5, 2014, at Fayetteville (N.C.) Motor Speedway. ... Seven cars remained on the track when the checkers flew with only five of those on the lead lap, including apparent fourth-place finisher Dennis Franklin, who was disqualified for an illegal right-rear tire. ... Donald Bradsher soldiered on to a third-place finish despite losing a cylinder on one of the race's restarts. ... Multiple first-lap problems included a tangle that involved Johnny Pursley and Doug Sanders.
On the move: Adam Yarborough of Denver, N.C., started 11th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Davenport's Lance Landers-owned Longhorn Chassis is powered by Durham Racing Engines and sponsored by Crop Production Services, ASC Warranty, Spartan Mowers, Mark Martin Automotive, Valvoline, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas and Midwest Sheet Metal.
Points chase: The 2018 points chase began Saturday night.
Car count: 14
Fast qualifier: Michael Brown
Time: 19.022 seconds
Polesitter: Michael Brown
Next series race: March 31, Fayetteville Motor Speedway (Fayetteville, NC) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

 Feature Lineup

Row 1: Brown, Davenport
Row 2: Langley, Pursley
Row 3: Watkins, Bradsher
Row 4: Bailes, Franklin
Row 5: Yandle, Sanders
Row 6: Yarborough, Todd
Row 7: Huey, Grube

Sponsor 1195
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728