Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/07/2022 11:24:25

Sponsor 743
February 24
Volunteer Speedway,
Bulls Gap, TN
Sanction: Iron-Man Racing Series (Frostbuster) - $3,500
Information provided by: Rich Allen of InsideDirtRacing.com and series reports (last updated March 9, 9:50 am)
Hedgecock toughest Iron-Man at Bulls Gap
  1. Cory Hedgecock
  2. Jadon Frame
  3. Billy Ogle Jr.
  4. Craig Greer
  5. Chicky Barton
  6. Casey Roberts
  7. Ryan King
  8. Chad Ogle
  9. Joey Standridge
  10. Pierce McCarter
  11. Steve Smith
  12. Ray Cook
presented by
Chad Wells/wellsracingphotos.com
Cory Hedgecock takes the checkers at Volunteer Speedway.
What won the race: Leading the final 14 laps after taking the lead from Chicky Barton following a restart on lap 22, Cory Hedgecock of Loudon, Tenn., won his first career Schaefer’s Oil Iron-Man Series feature. In holding off Jadon Frame of Winchester, Tenn., Hedgecock earned $3,500 on the fourth-year tour. Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., finished third.
Key notes: In a battle of attrition, only four cars finished. … Second-running Chicky Barton pulled off the track on lap 26 with his car beginning to trail smoke. … Polesitter and fast qualifier Ray Cook led the first seven laps before slowing and pulling into the pit area after losing a driveshaft. … Casey Roberts spun on lap 22 and called it a day. … Anthony White of Clinton, Tenn., won the Crate Late Model feature … This was the third annual Frostbuster. … The Iron-Man series is made its first visit to Volunteer Speedway. … Volunteer Speedway is celebrating its 45th anniversary. … Previous Frostbuster winners include Hedgecock and Jason Welshan (’17).
On the move: Craig Greer finished fourth after starting 11th.
Winner's sponsors: Hedgecock’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Cushman, Valley Transport, Transport One and VooDoo Technology.
Points chase: Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga., has 200 points to lead Cory Hedgecock (196 points), Casey Roberts (194), Tyler Bare (192) and Will Roland (190).
Car count: 12
Fast qualifier: Ray Cook
Time: 12.334 seconds
Next series race: May 12, I-75 Raceway (Sweetwater, TN) $3,000
Editor's note: Corrects spelling of runner-up's first name.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Cook, Barton
Row 2: King Roberts
Row 3: Hedgecock, B. Ogle
Row 4: Frame, McCarter
Row 5: C. Ogle, Smith
Row 6: Greer, Standridge

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728