Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/13/2020 20:30:09

Sponsor 743
February 24
Bubba Raceway Park,
Ocala, FL
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA Winter Series (Chevrolet Performance World Championship) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated February 26, 7:14 pm)
Bronson repeats $10,000 NeSmith victory at Ocala
Chevrolet Performance World Championship
  1. Kyle Bronson
  2. Tyler Bare
  3. Hudson O'Neal
  4. Michael Page
  5. Walker Arthur
  6. Logan Roberson
  7. Jeff Mathews
  8. Devin Dixon
  9. Jimmy Elliott
  10. Chase Edge
  11. Connor Meade
  12. Andy Picklesimer
  13. Justin Williams
  14. Ahnna Parkhurst
  15. Mark Whitener
  16. Keith Barbara
  17. Rhett Carter
  18. Ronnie Johnson
  19. Don O'Neal
  20. Shan Smith
  21. Dennis Franklin
  22. Chad Stapleton
  23. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
  24. Sam Seawright
presented by
Kyle Bronson shows off his $10,000 check in Ocala, Fla.
What won the race: Kyle Bronson of Brandon, Fla., slipped by early pacesetter Hudson O’Neal on lap 24 and led the rest of the way to win Saturday’s Chevrolet Performance World Championship, repeating his 2017 victory in the annual event at Bubba Raceway Park. Seventh-starting Tyler Bare of Rockbridge Baths, Va., finished second, while O’Neal, of Martinsville, Ind., finished third after starting second.
Quotable: “My car was really, really good all weekend long,” said Kyle Bronson, who won Friday’s feature also. “In the feature we had a lot left in the tank I think. We went with a soft tire and I was just taking it easy. I slowed down and my (spotter) kept telling me I was getting further and further away.”
Key notes: Kyle Bronson won by 2.729 seconds. … Tyler Bare passed Hudson O’Neal for second with eight laps remaining. … Bronson is the event’s second repeat winner and the first driver to win the event in consecutive seasons. Jimmy Owens is the only other driver with two victories. … Fourteen cars finished; nine completed 100 laps. … Five cautions slowed the race, the most serious when Ronnie Johnson was clipped by another car, collecting six cars total. … Walker Arthur rallied to fifth after pitting for tires. … There were three lead changes in the first 25 laps, none in the final 75 laps. … It was Bronson’s third Late Model victory during Speedweeks. Bronson won a $12,000 Lucas Oil Late Model Series race at East Bay Raceway Park in Gibsonton, Fla., on Feb. 10 to go along with a $2,000 NeSmith victory at Ocala Friday night. … Former Lucas Oil champ Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., piloted Tyler Clem’s car all weekend.
On the move: Walker Arthur of Forest, Va., improved 15 positions from 20th to fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Bronson’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Brandon Collision, All Florida Real Estate Group and Brandon Ford.
Points chase: Jimmy Elliot of Cleveland, Tenn.,led the miniseries points entering Saturday's race.
Car count: 46
Fast qualifier: Jeff Mathews
Time: 14.772 seconds
Polesitter: Jeff Mathews
Heat race winners: Jimmy Elliott, Jeff Mathews, Hudson O'Neal, Kyle Bronson
Consolation race winners: Sam Seawright, Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
Provisional starters: Ronnie Johnson, Andy Picklesimer
Next series race: March 9, Smoky Mountain Speedway (Maryville, TN) $2,000
Editor's note: Corrects finishing order from 11th-20th.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Mathews, H. O’Neal
Row 2: Bronson, Whitener
Row 3: Edge, Roberson
Row 4: Bare, Elliot
Row 5: Carter, Barbara
Row 6: Page, Dixon
Row 7: Seawright, Lloyd
Row 8: Williams, D. O’Neal
Row 9: Stapleton, Franklin
Row 10: Meade, Arthur
Row 11: Parkhurst, Smith
Row 12: Johnson, Picklesimer

Sponsor 985
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728