Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/27/2020 11:02:33

Sponsor 743
February 23
Bubba Raceway Park,
Ocala, FL
Sanction: Crate Racin’ USA Winter Series (Bubba Army Winter Nationals) - $2,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated February 24, 6:28 am)
Bronson picks up $2,000 Ocala victory
Bubba Army Winter Nationals
  1. Kyle Bronson
  2. Mark Whitener
  3. Justin Williams
  4. Michael Page
  5. Dennis Franklin
  6. Logan Roberson
  7. Hudson O'Neal
  8. Clay Harris
  9. Jeff Mathews
  10. Tyler Bare
  11. Nevin Gainey
  12. Jimmy Elliott
  13. Kevin Maher
  14. Jimmy Elliott
  15. Andy Picklesimer
  16. Ronnie Johnson
  17. Corey Almond
  18. Shan Smith
  19. Riley Hickman
  20. Connor Meade
  21. Trent Ivey
  22. Keith Barbara
  23. Rhett Carter
  24. Don O'Neal
presented by
Kyle Bronson captured Friday's 40-lapper at Bubba Raceway Park.
What won the race: Taking the lead from Jeff Mathews as they raced through traffic on lap 15, Kyle Bronson of Brandon, Fla., led the final 25 laps to win Friday’s Bubba Army Winter Nationals main event at Bubba Raceway Park. Bronson drove away to win by 3.529 seconds over Thursday winner Mark Whitener of Middleburg, Fla. Justin Williams of Shipman, Va., finished third.
Quotable: “Our car wasn’t bad last night, we just got about halfway through the race and couldn’t steer," winner Kyle Bronson said. "We knew what to do to it for tonight. We went with an extremity free setup today.”
Key notes: Bronson pulled away over the final 10 laps, stretching a 2.031-second advantage with 10 laps remaining to 3.529 seconds. … Seventeen cars finished with 15 completing all 40 laps. … The 40-lapper was slowed by six cautions, none serious. The longest green-flag run was 12 laps from lap 19 to lap 31. … First and second positions were flipped from a night earlier when Whitener outran Bronson. … Bronson also won a $12,000 Lucas Oil Late Model Series race at East Bay Raceway Park in Gibsonton, Fla., on Feb. 10. … Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., piloted Tyler Clem’s car for the second straight night. … Action continues Saturday with the 14th annual Chevrolet Performance World Championship, a 100-lap, $10,000-to-win finale with hot laps at 6 p.m.
On the move: Jimmy Elliot of Cleveland, Tenn., finished 12th after starting 24th.
Winner's sponsors: Bronson’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Brandon Collision, All Florida Real Estate Group and Brandon Ford.
Points chase: Jimmy Elliot of Cleveland, Tenn., had a four-point lead over Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., entering Friday's race.
Car count: 50
Fast qualifier: Jeff Mathews
Time: 14.756 seconds
Polesitter: Jeff Mathews
Heat race winners: Hudson O'Neal, Corey Almond, Dennis Franklin, Kevin Maher
Provisional starters: Ronnie Johnson, Shan Smith
Next series race: February 24, Bubba Raceway Park (Ocala, FL) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Mathews, Whitener
Row 2: Hickman, Williams
Row 3: Barbara, Bronson
Row 4: Page, Harris
Row 5: Picklesimer, Ivey
Row 6: H. O’Neal, Almond
Row 7: Franklin, Maher
Row 8: Roberson, Seawright
Row 9: D. O’Neal, Elliot
Row 10: Bare, Gainey
Row 11: Meade, Carter
Row 12: Johnson, S. Smith

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728