Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/13/2020 16:16:05

Sponsor 743
February 3
Boyd's Speedway,
Ringgold, GA
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Cabin Fever) - $3,000
Information provided by: Track and staff reports (last updated February 4, 11:23 pm)
Ownbey eases Cabin Fever with $3,000 victory
Cabin Fever
  1. John Ownbey
  2. Cory Hedgecock
  3. Michael Page
  4. Riley Hickman
  5. Jimmy Elliott
  6. David Seibers
  7. Ronnie Johnson
  8. Tod Hernandez
  9. Corey Roulette
  10. Jason Lively
  11. Billy Ogle Jr.
  12. Zach Leonhardi
  13. Clayton Turner
  14. Austin Horton
  15. Ethan Hunter
  16. Jadon Frame
  17. Chuck Smith
  18. Dustin Nobbe
  19. Bobby Giffin
  20. Tim Busha
  21. J.T. Seawright
  22. Eric Granger
  23. Jordan Rodabaugh
  24. Christian Hanger
presented by
Ronnie Barnett
John Ownbey led all the way for the $3,000 Cabin Fever payday.
What won the race: Building as much as a half-track lead, John Ownbey of Cleveland, Tenn., led all the way Saturday at Boyd's Speedway for a $3,000 Super Late Model victory in the rain-postponed Cabin Fever. Finishing second was Cory Hedgecock followed by polesitter Michael Page, who was in the middle of a postrace altercation during the frontstretch victory lane photo session.
Quotable: "I had a carburetor problem or something," Ownbey said in victory lane. "It was cutting out awful bad, but I told (the crew) I think it was kind of giving us traction. It might've worked out for the good."
Key notes: Ownbey had a half-track advantage when a caution appeared for Austin Horton with three laps remaining. ... A fight broke out on the frontstretch after third-place finisher Michael Page of Douglasville, Ga., criticized Ownbey's tactics in a postrace interview; it didn't appear anyone suffered injury in the postrace fireworks that included a flurry of Ownbey crew members, track workers and other participants, but fans lined the fence to get a closer look. ... A six-car pileup drew a red flag on the first lap. ... Another yellow appeared on lap 12 for Tim Busha. ... The race was postponed a week by Jan. 27 rain. ... The 10th annual event was the track's first under new promoter Kathie Coulter, whose grandfather founded the track. ... Ronnie Johnson earned $1,500 for a Crate Late Model victory; the division had 44 cars. ... More than 150 race cars overall entered the event.
On the move: Corey Roulette of Cumming, Ga., started 16th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Ownbey's No. J0 is sponsored by Sam's Restaurant Equipment, Frazier Property Rentals, Karsch Boutique and M&S Motors.
Car count: 41
Fast qualifier: Michael Page
Time: 14.398 seconds
Polesitter: Michael Page
Heat race winners: Tod Hernandez, Eric Granger, Zach Leonhardi, Jordan  Rodabaugh
Consolation race winners: Bobby Giffin, Chuck Smith
Editor's note: Corrects that Michael Page, not Cory Hedgecock, was involved in the frontstretch altercation.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Page, Ownbey
Row 2: Elliott, Hedgecock
Row 3: Hickman, Seibers
Row 4: Johnson, J.T. Seawright
Row 5: Hunter, Knowles
Row 6: Hernandez, Granger
Row 7: Leonhardi, Rodabaugh
Row 8: Frame, C. Roulette
Row 9: Busha, Horton
Row 10: Lively, Hanger
Row 11: Ogle, Nobbe
Row 12: Giffin, Turner
Row 13: Smith

Sponsor 863
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728