Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/22/2024 17:45:32

Sponsor 743
October 8
Eldora Speedway,
Rossburg, OH
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series (DIRTcar Nationals)
Information provided by: Track reports (last updated October 9, 8:14 am)
Van Wormer fends off Pierce at DIRTcar Nationals
DIRTcar Nationals
  1. Jeep Van Wormer
  2. Bobby Pierce
  3. Kent Robinson
  4. Jon Henry
  5. Jacob Hawkins
  6. Steve Casebolt
  7. Andrew Reaume
  8. Ryan Unzicker
  9. Rusty Schlenk
  10. Troy Worrick
  11. Hillard Miller
  12. Bryant Dickinson
  13. Dustin Nobbe
  14. Jake Hooker
  15. Jeff Babcock
  16. Jeremy Berwanger
presented by
Mike Campbell/campbellphoto.com
Jeep Van Wormer picked up $5,000 for his DIRTcar Nationals victory.
What won the race: Fighting back challenges from Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., Jeep Van Wormer of Pinconning, Mich., captured a $5,000 Sunoco American Late Model Series victory in Sunday's completion of the rain-postponed DIRTcar Fall Nationals at Eldora Speedway.
Quotable: “It feels good to get back in victory lane here at Eldora, it’s been a while,” Van Wormer said. “We’ll never know what would have happened if it didn’t rain last night. They had harder tires on then I did last night but we changed before we started today and my guys gave me a really good car.”
Key notes: Van Wormer scored his second straight victory after a 37-race winless streak back to July 21, 2015. ... He won the previous weekend's American Ethanol Late Model Tour event at dirt-covered Berlin Raceway in Marne, Mich. … Van Wormer's 35th career ALMS victory is just one behind all-time leader Kris Patterson. ... Rain halted the race on Saturday night with 16 laps completed; the remaining 24 laps were contested on Sunday afternoon. … Entering the Eldora weekend, nine points separated Rusty Schlenk and Ryan Unzicker in the UMP national points standings. With his ninth-place finish, Schlenk clinched the 2017 title. … The race marked the final Late Model event at Eldora for 2017.
Winner's sponsors: Van Wormer’s No. 55 has a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and is sponsored by Brucebuilt Performance, Bayline Fire Protection, Knochel Oil Company, Van Wormer Management, Allstar Performance, Integra Shocks, Services on Site, Joe Gibbs Driven Racing Oil, Keyser’s Port City Racing, VP Racing Fuels and Joe’s Racing Products.
Points chase: Jon Henry of Ada, Ohio, was crowned the 2017 Sunoco ALMS champion, with Kent Robinson of Bloomington, Ind., earning the Eldora track championship. Rusty Schlenk of McClure, Ohio, clinched the UMP DIRTcar weekly points title.
Car count: 23
Fast qualifier: Kent Robinson
Time: 16.305 seconds
Heat race winners: Jeep Van Wormer, Steve Casebolt, Kent Robinson
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information