Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/23/2024 19:20:21

Sponsor 743
September 29
Tri-City Speedway,
Granite City, IL
Sanction: UMP DIRTcar special events (non-touring) (Mod Mania) - $2,500
Information provided by: Staff and track reports (last updated September 30, 7:29 am)
Simpson outruns Pierce for $2,500 at Tri-City
Mod Mania
  1. Chris Simpson
  2. Bobby Pierce
  3. Shannon Babb
  4. Jason Feger
  5. Ryan Unzicker
  6. Tim Manville
  7. Gordy Gundaker
  8. Daryn Klein
  9. Tony Jackson Jr.
  10. Jose Parga
  11. Jim Shereck
  12. Ken Rumble
  13. Kolby Vandenbergh
  14. Adam Tischhauser
  15. Brent McKinnon
  16. Cody Holtkamp
  17. Claude Walker
  18. Mark Voigt
  19. Rusty Schlenk
  20. Rick Salter
  21. Bryan Collins
  22. Chad Zobrist
presented by
Jimmy Dearing/stlracingphotos.com
Chris Simpson takes the checkers at Tri-City Speedway.
What won the race: Leading the final 11 laps, Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, earned $2,500 Friday at Tri-City Speedway. Simpson won a mid-race battle with early leader Jason Feger and runner-up Bobby Pierce and pulled away for the victory.
Quotable: “(Promoter) Kevin (Gundaker) and them did an awesome job with this place. When it gets slick like that, me, (Jason) Feger and (Bobby) Pierce were three wide for the lead there, so that’s good. That’s the way I like to race,” said race winner Chris Simpson. “We’ve had a pretty good year. This is by far the best year I’ve ever had.”
Key notes: Jason Feger led early with Bobby Pierce and Chris Simpson all over him at halfway. ... Simpson went by both cars to lead lap 20. .... Feger slipped to fourth from second in the final few laps. ... Eight drivers completed 30 laps in the second of three straight nights at the St. Louis-area oval. ... Late Models are on the undercard of the 13th annual Summit Racing UMP Modified Mania Dirt Nationals. … Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., finished fifth as he tries to catch Rusty Schlenk of McClure, Ohio, in the UMP DIRTcar weekly points battle. Schlenk ran among the leaders early but retired in 19th. ... Unzicker won $2,000 in Thursday's opener. ... UMP Late Models chase $3,000 on Saturday. … Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., has been shut out thus far after sweeping all three nights of Late Model action during Mod Mania the last two years.
On the move: Tim Manville of Highland, Ill., started 16th and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Five Star Shop Service, Cheap Cars, Advanced Machine & Tool, Randy Davidson Trucking, IITI, Simpson Farms and Bill Bryant Trucking.
Points chase: Gordy Gundaker of St. Charles, Mo., is the 2017 Tri-City track champion.
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Ryan Unzicker
Polesitter: Bobby Pierce
Heat race winners: Bobby Pierce, Jason Feger, Shannon Babb
Consolation race winners: Tim Manville
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information