Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/23/2021 20:05:43

Sponsor 743
September 24
La Salle Speedway,
La Salle, IL
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Bill Waite Jr. Memorial Classic) - $4,000
Information provided by: Nick Jensen and contributor reports (last updated September 25, 10:18 am)
Erb edges Simpson for $4,000 La Salle victory
Bill Waite Jr. Memorial Classic
  1. Dennis Erb Jr.
  2. Chris Simpson
  3. Jason Feger
  4. Paul Parker
  5. Jeremiah Hurst
  6. Jay Sparks
  7. Mike Spatola
  8. Scott Schmitt
  9. Rob Toland
  10. Jose Parga
  11. Charlie Olson
  12. Jay Brendle
  13. Reno Markham
  14. John Provenzano
  15. Jeff Hartzell
  16. Brad Stewart
  17. Cole Swibold
  18. Rich Bell
  19. Spencer Diercks
  20. Dan White
presented by
Brendon Bauman/brendonbauman.com
Dennis Erb Jr. picks up the $4,000 check at La Salle Speedway.
What won the race: Capitalizing on Chris Simpson's turn-four slipup heading to the white flag, former track champion Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., earned $4,000 Sunday in the Late Model portion of La Salle Speedway's Bill Waite Jr. Memorial Classic. The hub-hugging Erb slid in front of Simpson exiting turn four to lead the final two laps.
Quotable: "We had a good enough car to run around that bottom there," winner Dennis Erb Jr. said. "I seen them guys were getting way too far out on turn four and hitting the wall and stuff, and I knew if we'd keep plugging away and hopefully hit our marks ... it all worked out for us."
Key notes: Erb, who stands eighth in Lucas Oil points, won his first feature since June 26 on the UMP DIRTcar Summernationals in Clarksville, Tenn. ... He won his first La Salle feature since the 2014 Thaw Brawl, a $15,000 payday. ... Polesitter Jeremiah Hurst led the first lap before Chris Simpson went ahead and led in the high groove with first-half challenges from Jason Feger in a two-car breakaway. ... Feger briefly took the lead, but it was erased by a caution that allowed Erb to get into the mix up front. ... Erb dove between Simpson and Feger on the restart, then chased Simpson the rest of the way before making his winning move. ... Jose Parga drove a No. 3jr car instead of his normal No. 6. ... Super Late Models joined IRA/MOWA sprint cars for the race sponsored by Interstate Batteries of Central Illinois and CIT Trucks.
On the move: Paul Parker of Kaukauna, Wis., started eighth and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Erb’s Black Diamond Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by J.R. McBride Leasing, McBride Mack, VoMac Truck Sales, M&S Concrete, and M&M Painting and Construction.
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Jose Parga
Polesitter: Jeremiah Hurst
Heat race winners: Jeremiah Hurst, Chris Simpson, Jason Feger
Consolation race winners: Charlie Olson
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Hurst, Simpson
Row 2: Feger, Sparks
Row 3: Erb, Toland
Row 4: Parga, Parker
Row 5: Provenzano, Diercks
Row 6: Markham, Schmitt
Row 7: Spatola, Bell
Row 8: Swibold, Olson
Row 9: Stewart, Hartzell
Row 10: White, Brendle

Sponsor 1070
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728