Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/23/2021 19:37:53

Sponsor 743
September 23
Red Cedar Speedway,
Menomonie, WI
Sanction: WISSOTA special events (non-touring) (Punky Manor Challenge of Champions) - $4,000
Information provided by: Track and team reports (last updated September 25, 11:06 am)
Diemel grabs fourth Punky Manor Challenge victory
Punky Manor Challenge of Champions
  1. A.J. Diemel
  2. Darrell Nelson
  3. Jake Redetzke
  4. Rick Hanestad
  5. Marshall Fegers
  6. John Kaanta
  7. Lance Matthees
  8. Mike Prochnow
  9. Nick Anvelink
  10. Jeffrey Massingill
  11. Harry Hanson
  12. Jesse Glenz
  13. Greg Nippoldt
  14. Terry Lillo
  15. James Giossi
  16. Jim Carlson
  17. Jimmy Mars
  18. Cole Spacek
  19. Brett Swedberg
  20. Mark Hessler
  21. Travis Budisalovich
  22. Mark Rose
  23. Chad Mahder
  24. Michael Keller
presented by
Vance Birno
A.J. Diemel collected $4,000 for his fourth Punky Manor trophy.
What won the race: Surviving a scrape with Jimmy Mars, A.J. Diemel of Elk Mound, Wis., won the Late Model portion of Red Cedar Speedway's Punky Manor Challenge of Champions for the fourth time, earning $4,000 in the WISSOTA special event. The third-starting Diemel added the victory to his previous wins in 2009-'10 and '12.
Quotable: "I hate to see that deal there with Jimmy ... It was kind of hard racing there and I was trying to get back up to that top in that lapped traffic there and he must've gotten a good run," winner A.J. Diemel said. "I apologize to them guys, they work hard to try to do this here in their hometown. for sure."
Key notes: Diemel got by polesitter and fellow MB Customs driver Jimmy Mars early in the feature. ... Mars was running second and tried to get around Diemel with five laps remaining when the frontfunners got together exiting turn four, cutting down the left-rear tire on the Mars car; he retired in 17th. ... Third-place finisher Jake Redetzke led early. ... Diemel's victory followed the previous weekend's $5,000 sweep of Cedar Lake Speedway's Legendary 100. ... Sixteen drivers were running at the finish.
On the move: John Kaanta of Elk Mound, Wis., started 21st and finished sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Diemel's MB Customs Race Car is sponsored by Badger, Beltline Body Shop, Bobcat of Morris, Mars Race Cars, Deppe Enterprises, T.L. Sinz Plumbing, Schill Construction, Southworth Chevrolet and Prestige Custom Cabinetry.
Points chase: With 562 points, Mike Prochnow of Menomonie, Wis., won the 2017 track championship over Michael Keller (451 points), Rick Hanestad (407), John Kaanta (396) and Jake Redetzke (396).
Car count: 30
Polesitter: Jimmy Mars
Heat race winners: A.J. Diemel, Jimmy Mars, Darrell Nelson
Consolation race winners: Jesse Glenz
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Mars, Redetzke
Row 2: Diemel, Nelson
Row 3: Hanestad, Giossi
Row 4: Matthees, Cole Spacek
Row 5: Fegers, Prochnow
Row 6: Anvelink, Swedberg
Row 7: Keller, Hanson
Row 8: Massingill, Hessler
Row 9: Glenz, Mahder
Row 10: Nippoldt, T. Lillo
Row 11: Kaanta, Rose
Row 12: Budisalovich, Carlson

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728