Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/25/2021 18:00:20

Sponsor 743
September 16
Whynot Motorsports Park,
Meridian, MS
Sanction: Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series - $2,500
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated September 18, 10:01 am)
Dacus holds off Rickman, wins at Whynot
  1. Dane Dacus
  2. Brian Rickman
  3. Rick Rickman
  4. Nick Thrash
  5. Chris Wall
  6. Spencer Hughes
  7. Chad Thrash
  8. Billy Franklin
  9. Doug Sanchagrin
  10. Shelby Sheedy
  11. David Breazeale
  12. David Franklin
  13. Mark Dodson
  14. Terry Mosley
presented by
Blake Hagan/Hagan Photography Motorsports - HPM
Dane Dacus (54) edges Brian Rickman (90) Saturday at Whynot Motorsports Park.
What won the race: Taking advantage when race leader David Breazeale hit the wall with three laps remaining, Dane Dacus of Lakeland, Tenn., edged Brian Rickman of Columbus, Miss., at the checkers to win Saturday's MSCCS race at Whynot. Rick Rickman of Columbus, Miss, finished third. Dacus, who didn't lead until the final straightaway on the final lap, earned $2,500 for his second career series victory.
Key notes: Dacus, who was running third behind Brian Rickman when Breazeale made contact with the wall, beat Rickman to the finish by the length of his car's nosepiece. ... Breazeale, who has four series wins this season, fell to 11th, three laps down. ... Ten cars finished the race, with eight completing all 50 laps. ... It was the second race of a MSCCS weekend doubleheader. … Rick Rickman won the weekend opener Friday at Greenville. … Dacus is the 11th different winner in 17 series races this season. … This iwas the fourth and final stop at Whynot for the tour this season. … Dacus joins David Breazeale, Brian Rickman and Billy Moyer Jr. with a MSCCS win at Whynot this year. … Whynot has produced five different winners the last five MSCCS races it’s hosted. … The series wraps up its season Oct. 6-7 with a $10,000-to-win race at Greenville (Miss.) Speedway. … Whynot hosts a $15,000-to-win unsanctioned Late Model special on Oct. 27-28.
Winner's sponsors: Dacus drives a Rocket Chassis powered by a Pro-Tec engine and sponsored by Fair Oaks Ranch, O.H. Hendricks Race Metal and Big Daddy's Garage.
Points chase: Entering the weekend, Chad Thrash had 1,900 points to lead Brian Rickman (1,740), David Breazeale (1,525), Billy Franklin (1,470) and Michael Arnold (1,460).
Car count: 14
Fast qualifier: Brian Rickman
Time: 12.914 seconds
Polesitter: Brian Rickman
Heat race winners: Brian Rickman
Consolation race winners: Nick Thrash
Next series race: October 6, Greenville Speedway (Greenville, MS) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728