Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/01/2023 11:55:55

Sponsor 743
June 24
Marshalltown Speedway,
Marshalltown, IA
Sanction: Deery Brothers Summer Series (Miller Lite 50) - $3,000
Information provided by: Christian Dundee and series reports (last updated June 25, 10:01 am)
Bonus baby! Aikey earns $4,000 at Marshalltown
Miller Lite 50
  1. Jeff Aikey
  2. Andy Eckrich
  3. Ray Guss Jr.
  4. Justin Kay
  5. Curt Martin
  6. Brian Harris
  7. Tyler Bruening
  8. Rick Wendling
  9. Jason Hahne
  10. Ryan Dolan
  11. Jason Rauen
  12. Joe Zrostlik
  13. Darrel DeFrance
  14. Kevin Kile
  15. Ron Boyse
  16. Spencer Diercks
  17. Jeremy Grady
  18. Scott Fitzpatrick
  19. Joel Callahan
  20. John Emerson
  21. Denny Eckrich
  22. Ron Klein
  23. Matt Ryan
  24. Charlie McKenna
presented by
Barry Johnson
Jeff Aikey continues lapping cars during his flag-to-flag victory.
What won the race: Third-starting Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Iowa, led all the way in Marshalltown's 50th anniversary celebration for his 62nd career Deery Brothers victory. Along with the $3,000 winner's purse, the seven-time series champion pocketed a pair of $500 bonuses in outrunning Andy Eckrich, Ray Guss Jr., series points leader Justin Kay and Curt Martin. Kay's personal six-race win streak came to an end.
Key notes: Aikey came out on top on a night when seven drivers from the track's 1985-'90 Late Model era chased a pair of $500 bonuses. Former promoter Steve Priske, now owner of Rumor's Bar & Grill, posted $500 to the highest finisher among those veteran drivers; H&F Distributing added another $500 if the veteran won. ... Aikey has four career series victories at Marshalltown, including one during the tour's first season in 1987. ... Aikey is the sixth winner in six series events in 2014. ... Denny Eckrich spun into the infield on lap 43 after making contact with second-running Ray Guss Jr. in trying to take the spot. ... Another yellow flew on lap 45. ... Ryan Dolan picked up the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels drawing. ... The Deery Brothers Summer Series made its lone stop at Marshalltown this season during the track's 50th anniversary campaign. ... It marked the 23rd series race at Marshalltown, which hosted weekly Late Models from 1987-90.
On the move: Andy Eckrich charged from the eighth starting position to finish second; consolation race winner Brian Harris rallied to finish sixth.
Winner's sponsors: Larry Fleck & Son Trucking, Steinfeldt Painting, Can-Am Automotive & Towing, BSB Mfg. and Aikey Auto Salvage.
Points chase: Entering the race, Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, had 235 points to lead Andy Eckrich (228) and Joel Callahan (216).
Car count: 34
Polesitter: Tyler Bruening
Heat race winners: Ray Guss Jr., Ryan Dolan, Rick Wendling, Jeff Aikey
Consolation race winners: Joel Callahan, Spencer Diercks
Provisional starters: Jeremy Grady, Scott Fitzpatrick, Matt Ryan
Next series race: July 1, Independence Motor Speedway (Independence, IA) $3,000
Editor's note: Fixes fifth-place finisher.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information