Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 19:18:28

Sponsor 743
September 7
River Cities Speedway,
Grand Forks, ND
Sanction: Northern LateModel Racing Association (Prelude to the Johnny) - $1,192
Information provided by: Mike Spieker (last updated September 8, 10:07 am)
Shaw dominates NLRA finale at Grand Forks
Prelude to the Johnny
  1. Don Shaw
  2. Jake Redetzke
  3. Dustin Strand
  4. Ricky Weiss
  5. John Kaanta
  6. Steve Laursen
  7. Ryan Mikkelson
  8. A.J. Diemel
  9. Pat Doar
  10. Ryan Corbett
  11. Scott Ward
  12. Bill Mooney
  13. Lance Matthees
  14. Nick Anvelink
  15. Jeff Wildung
  16. Mike Balcaen
  17. Joey Pederson
  18. Zach Naastad
  19. Shane Edginton
  20. Steve Anderson
  21. Brody Troftgruben
  22. Jeff Hapala
  23. Chad Mahder
  24. Travis Robertson
  25. Brad Seng
presented by
Mike Spieker/speedway-shots.com
Don Shaw won his eighth career NLRA victory.
What won the race: Don Shaw of Ham Lake, Minn., led all 25 laps from the pole Thursday at River Cities Speedway to capture the NLRA season finale. Shaw notched his third series victory of the season and second in a row while Ricky Weiss wrapped up his second series championship.
Quotable: “This is huge,” Shaw said. “Three nights ago we flipped a car, had to rebuild a different one, throw a motor and stuff in it and get it ready for (the John Seitz Memorial). I had no idea what we had coming into tonight so to win with all of these guys here in a car I haven’t even ran before is unbelievable.”
Key notes: Shaw had a 1.570-second margin on runner-up Jake Redetzke at the checkers. ... The frontstretch lights dimmed during a lap-five caution, forcing a 15-minute red flag until the lights came back on. ... Eighteen of 25 starters completed 25 laps. ... The race opened the non-tour John Seitz Memorial weekend at River Cities, a $9,200-to-win event.
On the move: Ryan Mikkelson of Jamestown, N.D., started 16th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Shaw's Billy Moyer Victory Race Car has a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsorship from Shaw Trucking, Blaine Brothers, Allstate Peterbilt, Northern Metal Recycling and Lube-Tech.
Points chase: Ricky Weiss of Headlingley, Manitoba, wrapped up the NLRA title with his fourth-place finish. Weiss also won the title in 2011.
Car count: 45
Polesitter: Don Shaw
Heat race winners: Steve Laursen, Jake Redetzke, Scott Ward, Don Shaw, Dustin Strand
Consolation race winners: Ryan Mikkelson, Shane Edginton
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information