Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/25/2021 17:10:36

Sponsor 743
September 3
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Hall of Fame Race) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated September 4, 3:55 pm)
Cherokee gives Bailes third straight victory
Hall of Fame Race
  1. Ross Bailes
  2. Michael Brown
  3. Donald Bradsher
  4. Dennis Franklin
  5. Brent Dixon
  6. John Henderson
  7. Brett Hamm
  8. Jeff Smith
  9. Jeremy Conaway
  10. Josh Richeson
  11. David Yandle
  12. Doug Sanders
  13. Zack Mitchell
  14. Johnny Pursley
  15. Josh Langley
  16. Tim Allen
  17. Scott Shirey
  18. Anthony Sanders
  19. Derrick Ramey
presented by
Zack Kloosterman/ZSK Photography
Ross Bailes and chassis builder Barry Wright in Cherokee's victory lane.
What won the race: Second-starting Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., took command from polesitter Johnny Pursley on the 11th of 40 laps and went on to a $5,000 Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series victory in Cherokee Speedway's Hall of Fame Race. Back behind the wheel of the Barry Wright house car, Bailes took the checkered flag 1.497 seconds of runner-up Michael Brown to stretch his personal winning streak to three in a row.
Key notes: Bailes has 11 career series victories, three this season. ... Bailes previously won the most recent Carolina Clash race Aug. 26 at Fayetteville (N.C.) Motor Speedway (in a Billy Hicks-owned car), as well as the previous Clash stop at Cherokee on Aug. 5. … Sunday's runner-up Michael Brown also finished second to Bailes in the Aug. 5 event. ... Johnny Pursley led the first 10 laps Sunday; he retired with driveshaft failure running third on lap 26. ... Ten drivers completed 40 laps. ... Cherokee’s conducted a Hall of Fame induction ceremony prior to the night's action; the 2017 inductees include: Chuck Piazza (Lifetime Achievement), Ronnie Sewell (Lifetime Achievement), Dick Franklin (Contributor), Mitchell Duvall (Sportsman), Walter Faulkner (Promoters Choice, Contributor).
On the move: Third-place finisher Donald Bradsher of Burlington, N.C., started 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Bailes drivers a Barry Wright Race Car sponsored by HNO Hauling and Grading, B&A Pallet Division, D and E Marine, C&H Paving, Penske Shocks, Base Racing Fuel and DirtCarLift.com.
Points chase: Entering the race, Zack Mitchell (1,039 points) led Johnny Pursley (962), Michael Brown (924), Jeff Smith (844) and Scott Shirey (836).
Car count: 19
Fast qualifier: Johnny Pursley
Time: 15.295 seconds
Polesitter: Johnny Pursley
Consolation race winners: Michael Brown, Dennis Franklin
Next series race: September 23, Wythe Raceway (Rural Retreat, VA) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Pursley, Bailes
Row 2: Hamm, A. Sanders
Row 3: Brown, Franklin
Row 4: Mitchell, Langley
Row 5: Henderson, Bradsher
Row 6: D. Sanders, J. Smith
Row 7: Dixon, Shirey
Row 8: Ramey, Allen
Row 9: Yandle, Conaway
Row 10: Richeson

Sponsor 718
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728