Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1220
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/23/2021 19:13:12

Sponsor 743
September 1
Attica Raceway Park,
Attica, OH
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series (Attica Ambush) - $5,000
Information provided by: Track and series reports (last updated September 2, 4:19 pm)
Henry goes flag-to-flag for $5,000 Attica victory
Attica Ambush
  1. Jon Henry
  2. Corey Conley
  3. Steve Kester
  4. Steve Casebolt
  5. Rusty Schlenk
  6. Eric Spangler
  7. Brent Larson
  8. Paul Stubber
  9. Mike Bores
  10. J.R. Gentry
  11. Dave Hornikel
  12. Casey Noonan
  13. Devin Shiels
  14. Nathon Loney
  15. Jerry Bowersock
  16. Ken Hahn
  17. Hillard Miller
  18. Ryan Eddleblute
  19. Matt Irey
  20. Matt Miller
  21. George Lee
  22. Doug Drown
presented by
Jim Collum Jr./Action Photo
Jon Henry collected $5,000 for his victory in the Attica Ambush.
What won the race: Leading all 30 laps, polesitter Jon Henry of Ada, Ohio, outran fourth-starting Corey Conley of Wellsburg, W.Va., for a $5,000 Sunoco American Late Model Series victory in Attica Raceway Park's Attica Ambush.
Quotable: “I was sweatin’ a little bit because my guys kept giving me signals. I knew they were close," said winner Jon Henry. "I figured if I just held a line … I knew starting up front was gonna be key tonight the way the track was a little fast. And we’ve struggled on fast race tracks with this race car. But tonight we dialed it in really good.”
Key notes: Henry notched his 11th career Sunoco American Late Model Series victory; his last came nearly a year ago at Oakshade Raceway on Sept. 3, 2016. ... Henry fought back early challenges from Steve Kester before fighting back Corey Conley's late-race charge. ... A yellow flag flew on the first lap when George Lee rolled his No. 61 machine; he was able to climb from his car, but complained of shoulder pain. … Devin Shiels spun to draw a caution on lap 21. ... The Sunoco ALMS tour made its lone stop at Attica on the 2017 season. … ALMS action continues on Saturday with a $2,000-to-win event at Oakshade.
On the move: Rusty Schlenk of McClure, Ohio, advanced from the 13th starting spot to finish fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Henry’s Club 29 Race Car has a Dargie Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Jim Weber Motorsports, Truman Quarterhorses, Accu-Force, Fultz Fabrication and Wide Open Graphics.
Points chase: Devin Shiels of Britton, Mich., won the 2017 Attica title with 2,060 points over Doug Drown (2,017) and Mike Bores (2,011).
Car count: 37
Fast qualifier: Steve Casebolt
Time: 14.421 seconds
Polesitter: Jon Henry
Heat race winners: Jon Henry, Brent Larson, Steve Kester, Corey Conley
Consolation race winners: Matt Irey, Ryan Eddleblute
Next series race: September 2, Oakshade Raceway (Wauseon, OH) $2,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Henry, Larson
Row 2: Kester, Conley
Row 3: Casebolt, Stubber
Row 4: Loney, Bores
Row 5: Spangler, Hornikel
Row 6: Noonan, Gentry
Row 7: Schlenk, Lee
Row 8: Hahn, Drown
Row 9: Irey, Eddleblute
Row 10: M. Miller, Shiels
Row 11: H. Miller, Bowersock

Sponsor 985
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728