Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/23/2021 18:11:51

Sponsor 743
August 31
I-80 Speedway,
Greenwood, NE
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Rock N' Roll 40) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated September 1, 11:02 am)
Chad Simpson rules I-80 for $3,000 MLRA victory
Rock N' Roll 40
  1. Chad Simpson
  2. Chase Junghans
  3. Terry Phillips
  4. Chris Spieker
  5. Rodney Sanders
  6. Kyle Berck
  7. Randy Timms
  8. J.C. Wyman
  9. Matt Buller
  10. Dave Eckrich
  11. Al Purkey
  12. Andrew Kosiski
  13. Bob King
  14. Cale Osborn
  15. Allan Hopp
  16. Jason O'Brien
  17. Jesse Stovall
  18. Dean Moore
  19. Corey Zeitner
  20. Mike Collins
  21. John Anderson
  22. Jeremy Grady
presented by
Chris Eiel/chriseiel@hotmail.com
Chad Simpson races to a $3,000 MLRA victory at I-80 Speedway.
What won the race: Leading all 40 laps, Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, picked up his first MLRA victory of the season in the Rock 'N Roll 40 at I-80 Speedway. Simpson crossed the finish line 0.515 seconds ahead of ninth-starting Chase Junghans, who made serious challenges to dive under Simpson late in the race.
Quotable: "We had a fast racetrack tonight, so we just had to make sure to keep it out front," winner Chad Simpson said. "It was all I could do there at the end to keep it in front of (Junghans). I didn't want to work that hard at the end."
Key notes: Chad Simpson has eight career MLRA victories. ... The event was slowed by two cautions on laps seven and 15. ... The race was the lone standalone MLRA event at the season after the tour's season-opening weekend in Nebraska was rained out. ... MLRA's tripleheader weekend continues at Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan., and Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo. ... Tour regular Jesse Stovall was back in action after taking time off to recover from a concussion suffered in a July accident at I-80; he retired after 21 laps with apparent mechanical problems after reaching the top five. ... Six-time MLRA champion Al Purkey made his first Late Model start since 2011 in Al Humphrey's No. 6; Purkey finished 11th.
On the move: Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., started 11th and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson's Black Diamond Chassis has a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and is sponsored by Liebe Trucking, GATR Truck Center, Diercks Ltd., Simpson Farms, Graves Oil, Allstar Performance, Wehrs Machine, Dyer's Top Rods, Performance Bodies, Master Built Concrete, Cen-Pe-Co and Phase2Sign Supply.
Points chase: Heading into Labor Day weekend, Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., had 1,258 points to lead Rodney Sanders (1,212) and Jesse Stovall (1,199).
Car count: 22
Heat race winners: Rodney Sanders, Chris Spieker, Chad Simpson
Next series race: September 1, Lakeside Speedway (Kansas City, KS) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728