Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/23/2024 07:04:18

Sponsor 743
June 21
Friendship Motor Speedway,
Elkin, NC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series - $4,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated June 23, 4:12 pm)
Overton captures first Carolina Clash win
  1. Brandon Overton
  2. Dennis Franklin
  3. Zack Mitchell
  4. Kennie Compton Jr.
  5. Ricky Weeks
  6. Kyle Pierce
  7. Billy Hicks
  8. Bubba McGee
  9. Kevin Godwin
  10. Anthony Sanders
  11. Ronnie Hoover
  12. Kevin Wilson
  13. Doug Sanders
  14. Billy Lambert
  15. Brian Moody
  16. Mike Gault
  17. Johnny Pursley
  18. Jonathan Edwards
  19. Scott Shirey
  20. Randy Harmon
presented by
Howard Lawson
Brandon Overton picks up the checkers at Friendship.
What won the race: Second-starting Brandon Overton won a race-long battle with fellow front-row starter Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., for his first career Carolina Clash victory. The pair swapped the lead on multiple occasions throughout the caution-plagued 40-lapper which lasted more than an hour. Overton used the slower car of Randy Harmon as a pick to make his final pass of Franklin.
Quotable: "I just didn't want to give up," Overton said. "I learned a lot last night (at Cherokee) and knew that my day would come. It finally did and it feels great!"
Key notes: Overton was coming off a strong second-plce finish in Friday's Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C., after leading much of the feature. ... At Friendship, Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., started and finished third. ... Randy Harmon spun on the first lap and rejoined the event with fewer than 10 laps remaining. He was black-flagged for being too many laps down, but remained on the track and played a part in the outcome. ... Six drivers completed all 40 laps. ... Jonathan Edwards and Johnny Pursley exchanged words in the infield after tangling during a lap-seven restart on which Edwards slammed the wall; both drivers retired. ... Randy Harmon, Brian Moody, Mike Gault, Doug Sanders, Anthony Sanders and Ronnie Hoover were among other drivers involved in cautions. ... Matt Long of Concord, N.C., won the SECA Crate Late Model feature.
On the move: Hicks improved from 13th to finish seventh and tail-starting Kevin Godwin finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Overton drives a Troy Baird-owned Club 29 Race Car that carries sponsorship from Baird Transport, Dirtwrap, Elite Concrete, Harleyville, FK Rod Ends and National Transportation.
Points chase: Kennie Compton Jr. of Bland, Va., has 238 points to lead Mitchell and Kyle Pierce, who each have 225 points apiece.
Car count: 21
Fast qualifier: Dennis Franklin
Time: 15.207 seconds
Polesitter: Dennis Franklin
Next series race: July 12, Volunteer Speedway (Bulls Gap, TN) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information