Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/27/2023 14:17:37

Sponsor 743
July 29
Fort Payne Motor Speedway,
Fyffe, AL
Sanction: Unsanctioned special events (Firecracker 50) - $3,000
Information provided by: Various reports (last updated July 30, 9:18 am)
Brannon goes wire-to-wire for Firecracker victory
Firecracker 50
  1. David Brannon
  2. Robert Gant
  3. J.T. Seawright
  4. Aaron Ridley
  5. Lucas Burns
  6. Josh Putnam
  7. Kasey Hall
  8. Daniel Miller
  9. Luke Riddle
  10. Heath Hindman
  11. Darrell Hayes
  12. Kip Fossett
  13. Dusty Carver
  14. Tod Hernandez
  15. Teddy Snow
  16. Shay Miller
  17. D.J. Hayes
  18. Colby Kilgore
  19. Clay Joseph
  20. Richard Smith
  21. Tom Maddox
  22. Sam Seawright
  23. Casey Turman
  24. Bryan Grinder
presented by
Ronnie Barnett
David Brannon picked up a $3,000 victory in his Fort Payne visit.
What won the race: Polesitter David Brannon of Elora, Tenn., survived a flurry of mid-race cautions to win the 10th annual Firecracker 50. Brannon led all 50 laps to collect a $3,000 payday, winning by seven-tenths of a second ahead of Fort Payne regulars Robert Gant and J.T. Seawright.
Key notes: The 10th annual Firecracker 50 was finally put in the books on the third attempt. The event was rained out July 1 and again July 15. … Twelve cars finished the race, with 10 completing all 50 circuits. ... The caution-filled afffair took more than 45 minutes to complete and didn't conclude until after 1:30 a.m. ... Brannon's qualifying mark of 13.49 seconds set a new track record. ... Defending race champion Josh Putnam of Florence, Ala., ran second early before slipping to sixth. ... Only 14 cars made it beyond the halfway mark. ... Richie Stephens and Jason Price split the twin features for the sportsman division.
On the move: Picking up 13 spots, Daniel Miller of Lynchburg, Tenn., finished eighth after starting 21st.
Winner's sponsors: Brannon's Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Race Engine and sponsored by Elora Gin and Brannon Cotton Farms.
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: David Brannon
Time: 13.496 seconds
Polesitter: David Brannon
Consolation race winners: Heath Hindman
Editor's note: Reverses second- and third-place finishers; corrects spelling of Richie Stephens.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information