Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 605
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/07/2020 05:47:19

Sponsor 743
July 26
Baer Field Motorsports Park,
Fort Wayne, IN
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series (Hump Day Hustler) - $2,000
Information provided by: Track and series reports (last updated July 27, 1:32 pm)
ALMS first-timer christens Baer Field's dirt oval
Hump Day Hustler
  1. Eric Spangler
  2. Devin Shiels
  3. Jon Henry
  4. Jerry Bowersock
  5. Hillard Miller
  6. Brad Eitniear
  7. Graeme Short
  8. Matt Shipley
  9. Bob Mayer
  10. Joe Smith
  11. Josh Robertson
  12. Rusty Smith
  13. Robert Johnson
  14. Ben Nicastri
  15. Sam Tolley
  16. Jeff Robertson
presented by
Steve Curtis
Eric Spangler heads for his first Sunoco American Late Model Series win.
What won the race: Overtaking polesitter Devin Shiels on the fourth lap, fourth-starting Eric Spangler of Lake City, Mich., scored his first career Sunoco American Late Model Series victory in the first-ever Dirt Late Model event at Baer Field Motorsports Park. Spangler, who led 27 of 30 laps and had a huge lead at the finish, earned $2,000.
Quotable: "The car, what Keith (Masters) told us to bring here, we did, and a couple of suggestions from myself (for a suspension setup)," Spangler said. "We never changed everything all night. The same car as we started with, so great car."
Key notes: Spangler has captured multiple victories on the 2017 season, including a pair of wins on the American Ethanol Late Model Tour. … Fast qualifier Ben Nicastri retired after a lap-eight spin. ... Rusty Schlenk scratched after qualifying because of engine problems. ... Baer Field added a dirt oval to its long-time asphalt facility and hosted Dirt Late Models for the first time.
Winner's sponsors: Spangler's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Spangler Heating & Cooling, Cyclo Products, Forbes Construction & Excavation, Mark Mitchell P.C., Atkins Electric, Taco Boy, A&L Trading Post, Babb Ford, Goodman H&C and Xtreme GrafX.
Points chase: Entering Wednesday's event, Jon Henry topped the series standings with 332 points over Rusty Schlenk (303) and Bobby Pierce (271).
Car count: 17
Fast qualifier: Ben Nicastri
Time: 13.524 seconds
Polesitter: Devin Shiels
Heat race winners: Devin Shiels, Jerry Bowersock
Next series race: August 11, Kankakee County Speedway (Kankakee, IL) $3,000
Editor's note: Adds Jon Henry as third-place finisher and fixes prelim winners.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728